flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > flat assembler 1.64

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Embrance



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 116
Location: Greece
Embrance 05 Sep 2005, 10:48
Tomasz Grysztar wrote:
I think we should concentrate now on making some tutorials, example programs etc.

I don't know enough about Mac x86 yet - does anyone known what object/executable formats would they use?

+1 on this.The lack of new and up-to-date tutorials makes many newbies go away from ASM.And the example should be well documented on what each thigns does.A new guy is always a new guy,he cant just figure out alone. Confused
Post 05 Sep 2005, 10:48
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
allan



Joined: 10 Sep 2005
Posts: 8
allan 10 Sep 2005, 22:58
+1 again with Embrance.

Love to work with FASM but would make starting out easier if there were some basic example code with explanations.

1. basic window
2. basic window with menu
3. basic dialog

It should be accessable from main web page - in clear view!

allan
Post 10 Sep 2005, 22:58
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Embrance



Joined: 14 Mar 2004
Posts: 116
Location: Greece
Embrance 11 Sep 2005, 15:44
Well my main interested would be in DOS and General Cosnole applications.
Why?
1)They are easy to code
2)They are fast
3)Cleaner code

Then Windows and Linux stuff:)
Post 11 Sep 2005, 15:44
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Aster!x



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Aster!x 26 Nov 2005, 15:20
Tomasz Grysztar

Why you use syntax <> instead of !=
<> - it VB and Delphi syntax, not masm

Why there is an opportunity to use
.if eax
.......
.endif


But is not present

.if !eax
.......
.endif

and

.if eax != 5
.......
.endif

and

.if (eax != 5)&&(eax > 3)&&(eax < 7)
.......
.endif

And why invoke does not distinguish x64 and x86 syntax ?
Post 26 Nov 2005, 15:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 26 Nov 2005, 15:24
It's because also the native fasm's syntax (for IF directive) uses this instead of !=. Also note that in fasm ! is not a special character (it can be a part of label, so when you write "eax!=5" it is label "eax!" compared with "5".

What do you mean about "invoke"?
Post 26 Nov 2005, 15:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2139
Location: Estonia
Madis731 26 Nov 2005, 15:32
<> is as descriptive as != and typing it is easier. Why not?

FASM already supports wide variety of syntaxes like 0FFh, 0xFF, etc.; TASM, MASM, etc. I wouldnt ask for more.

&& and other derivates are used in C-syntax, and, or, xor are more descriptive (meaning less cryptic) so:
Code:
(eax != 5)&&(eax > 3)&&(eax < 7)
;is very hard to read opposed to:
(eax<>5) and (eax>3) and (eax<7)
    


And why there isnt !eax? Oh, but there is NOT eax!

_________________
My updated idol Very Happy http://www.agner.org/optimize/
Post 26 Nov 2005, 15:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Aster!x



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 26
Aster!x 26 Nov 2005, 15:48
Tomasz Grysztar wrote:
It's because also the native fasm's syntax (for IF directive) uses this instead of !=. Also note that in fasm ! is not a special character (it can be a part of label, so when you write "eax!=5" it is label "eax!" compared with "5".


It can be corrected ?

Quote:
What do you mean about "invoke"?


I mean that macro verify a mode x86 or x64

That it was possible to write

invoke MessageBox, 0, _message, _caption, 0

and macro would generate a code

mov r9d,0
lea r8,[_caption]
lea rdx,[_message]
mov rcx,0
call [MessageBox]
Post 26 Nov 2005, 15:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8356
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 26 Nov 2005, 15:56
You use the PROC64.INC for Win64 and PROC32.INC for Win32. The 64-bit macros packages are yet undocumented, though. And there are no 64-bit headers (WIN64.INC etc.) yet, too - so you have to include PROC64.INC and others manually.
Post 26 Nov 2005, 15:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MattBro



Joined: 08 Nov 2003
Posts: 37
MattBro 04 Dec 2005, 07:25
Here's an off the wall question that I've asked before. How hard would it be to turn the current version of fasm into a just in time (JIT) compiler? Thus one would have a character string in memory representing the assembly subroutine one wishes to execute; one would call fasm as a function call in a library and then assemble the assembly into binary in some buffer in memory; followed by the execution of the code in memory. Presumably to make the code relocatable, one would use the appropriate macros to tag the start of the memory buffer the binary code would be written to. Last I checked fasm already has some macro directives that make this possible.
Post 04 Dec 2005, 07:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rugxulo



Joined: 09 Aug 2005
Posts: 2341
Location: Usono (aka, USA)
rugxulo 13 Dec 2005, 01:18
FASM: Frequently And Silently Modified Smile

(updated yet again: Dec. 8, 2005)
Post 13 Dec 2005, 01:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 13 Dec 2005, 02:37
What's different in this new version? (I always forget to unzip in a temporal folder and then use a file comparing tool)

[edit] Don't reply, I know now Razz http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=32958 [/edit]
Post 13 Dec 2005, 02:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4624
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly 14 Dec 2005, 01:57
I've checked FASM at sourceforge and I noticed that the version is older than the FASM's site (is the 1.64 but is not 1.64.08122005). Why FASM at sourceforge is not updated? I also checked the stats and there is some downloads there.
Post 14 Dec 2005, 01:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.