flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Making a simple OS. A Few questions...

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
THEWizardGenius



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 382
Location: California, USA
THEWizardGenius
Let me explain once again my point. His OS is only for testing the computer. It is not intended to be a modern, multi-tasking, multi-threading, 32-bit OS with support for every hardware from A to Z. It is a OS to test a system (i.e., make sure everything works properly)? In a normal situation, with a normal OS, pmode is always better. But in his case, he doesn't need it, and although he could use it, he would have to use a VM or switch between pm and rm frequently.

So in short, for most OSes, the challenge of doing things with no BIOS is not a significant reason not to use pmode. In his case, however, it is. He probably won't need pmode later or now, so why bother doing all the extra work?
Post 12 Aug 2005, 01:42
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
The bootloader I have uses Pmode, but since I'm using C for the kernel, I don't really need to mess with the BIOS and things until I start the actual testing areas of the OS. But I am glad everyone voiced their opinion.

Also, I was going to use RM to learn assembly and then when I expanded Reactor into a windows like OS, I was going to rewrite everything in Pmode. Very Happy But it looks like I'll be using Pmode anyway.
Post 12 Aug 2005, 14:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Night Rider



Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 72
Night Rider
Quote:

uses Pmode, but since I'm using C for the kernel, I don't really need to mess with the BIOS

Do you really think that C is super-power language wich will work in RM wo BIOS and your drivers?
Post 12 Aug 2005, 14:26
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Did you read all of my post? I said I won't need BIOS calls in my kernel until I actually start the testing parts. And no, I don't think C is a super-power language. I only use it becuase It's easier to understand than assembly and I have found alot of tutorials to get me started. Now, maybe I'm wrong about the BIOS thing, but I haven't had to use it yet. And I also said I was using PMode... not RMode...
Post 12 Aug 2005, 15:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Night Rider



Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 72
Night Rider
Nope, i mean - you said "since i use C, i do not need BIOS"
Quote:

And I also said I was using PMode...
Yes, what so?
Sorry, people if i am too rude last 2 days.... Bad mood. Raining 5 days...
Post 12 Aug 2005, 18:09
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Stop putting words in my mouth bud! I never said "since i use C, i do not need BIOS". I said:

Quote:
but since I'm using C for the kernel, I don't really need to mess with the BIOS and things until I start the actual testing areas of the OS


Notice the bold part? Did you even read that all or did you just skim through it and jump to conlusions? What I was saying was that I haven't had to use the BIOS yet becuase I am mostly working with the video mode now (trying to get the text to display). I WILL use the bios when I start making the test progam of my OS.
Post 12 Aug 2005, 20:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Night Rider



Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 72
Night Rider
Sorry, i missed the comma sign. Calm down. We are just talking...
Post 12 Aug 2005, 21:25
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Sorry. Razz I'm alittle cranky becuase of that bunch of 10 years olds. lol.
Post 13 Aug 2005, 01:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Night Rider



Joined: 28 Jul 2005
Posts: 72
Night Rider
Where to enter to see your argue with them?
Post 13 Aug 2005, 13:41
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
lol. I stopped arguing. I got tired of it so I said I was sorry for causing trouble becuase I didn't want the mods to ban me. But anyway, this is the address to the site:

http://forums.gamemaker.nl

Most of the "subos" projects are in the Work In Progress forum. Or you can register and do a search for subos and you will get TONS of them. Razz
Post 13 Aug 2005, 14:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.