flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Just curious about everybody's programming experience

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
shaolin007

shaolin007
I plan on starting college in the spring of next year and wondered what kind of schooling and background programming experience people have. I have been self taught up to this point and was wondering what I could expect from a degree in Computer Science. Please share your thoughts.
Post 29 Jun 2005, 18:44
coconut

coconut
im self-taught too, i took some classes in college and it was actually tough to unlearn the style i taught myself and use the 'textbook' way of programming
Post 30 Jun 2005, 00:34
smiddy

smiddy
Man, this opens up an interesting discussion. There are those who would argue that a degree is simply a peice of paper, which allows you the ability to get your foot in the door to work for a company; that experience and application are the real drivers towards programming well. On the flip side, others contend that without the brush strokes of education, you'll never know the entire perspective or share it with your colleges; that each successive degree puts you into another class of programmer; that experience will be gain over time.

I am not a programmer by trade, I'm a systems engineer, with a BSEE, along with AAS in Avionics. I program as a hobby in order to learn the PC archetecture more fully. I plan to get an advanced degree in physics or bioengineering when I have settled in a new location, which should happen some time between now and September. Oh, and I am considering going to the dark side and perhaps work on a MBA...but that is my third choice.