flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Differences between DOS FASM and Windows FASM

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
mooreathome65



Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Location: South Carolina, USA
mooreathome65
I may be just a little too much issolated in my windows world, but I am scratching my head here wondering (and I have searched the fourm - found some great threads that I have enjoyed, but have not found the answer to this question...)

Ok, to the point: What is the difference between FASM for DOS and FASM for windows? Is it merly a 16 bit memory model -vs- a 32bit memory model?

What are the implications to code being ported from DOS FASM to Windows FASM?

I appreciate your help. Brad
Post 20 Jun 2005, 18:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard
Basically, all versions of fasm will generate same output from the same source. So it is no difference which one you use to compile your programs. fasm for win32 can compile dos programs, as well as linux ones.
Only difference between different fasm versions is and OS that they can run on.
Post 20 Jun 2005, 18:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
did you mean differences between assembly coding in DOS and Windows?
Post 20 Jun 2005, 19:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
mooreathome65



Joined: 20 Jun 2005
Posts: 2
Location: South Carolina, USA
mooreathome65
Yeah - I might have, not understanding really what I am asking.

So here is the other question - can I compile programs that call windows routines (via DLL) using the DOS version of FASM, or do I need to use the windows version.

I guess then I am asking - is the output of DOS FASM restricted to being console, or by calling windows routines can I generate windows GUI executables, or must the windows version of FASM be used for that?

Thanks
Post 20 Jun 2005, 19:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
you can compile it using any version of FASM. Output of all versions FASMs is same. Output of FASM depends ONLY on contents of source fil you are compiling (and including of course)
read http://flatassembler.net/docs.php?article=design
Post 20 Jun 2005, 19:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
UCM



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 285
Location: Canada
UCM
altho you'll need the Win32 version to get the win32 macros.

_________________
This calls for... Ultra CRUNCHY Man!
Ta da!! *crunch*
Post 20 Jun 2005, 21:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.