flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > 32Bit Boot Loader with Image?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Hiya! I have a boot loader than shows an image while it loads, but it runs in 16bit mode. Does anyone have something like it that runs in 32bit mode? It should load a BMP or GIF and if possible, it should have a image size larger than 320x200...

Thanks so much! I would write one myself, but I'm really new to FASM.

EDIT: put BooLoader instead of Boot Loader. lol. Razz
Post 10 Jun 2005, 20:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
You could try my CdPod should be esay to convert http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=2164&start=50

Note: i was called ASHLEY4 then.
Post 10 Jun 2005, 21:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Thanks. I've seen your example many times, but again, I'm really new to FASM and I have no idea where to start on converting to 32 bit.

Nice example tho. Very Happy
Post 10 Jun 2005, 21:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Hi DataHunter2009,
CdPod run's in pmode (32bit) already, the the graphic are 640x480 32bpp and the image is not a bmp etc, but drawed on line by line, i could easy convert it to show a image,
but here are some problems, first the size of the image will be 900.1 KB , that would take a lot of floppy disk space and a lot of chug, chug, chug when loading and to load it you would need to be in unreal mode, you would also need to enable A20, to display full screen.

640x480 256 would be easer Wink.

PS: what is it you want to load ?
Post 11 Jun 2005, 13:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
I'd like to load a premade GIF or JPG image. It doesn't have to be 640x480 if that would cause size problems, but I'm probably going to put it on CD anyway in a few days so I guess that wouldn't matter.
Post 11 Jun 2005, 16:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I have made a demo for you to try (boots from cd, 640x480 32bpp, BMP), i will up load a ISO for you to try, it needs vesa2.

Let me know if you want me to up load it.
Post 11 Jun 2005, 16:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DataHunter2009



Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 144
DataHunter2009
Sure, you can upload it. Smile
Post 11 Jun 2005, 18:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
i think ive seen that example, its pretty cool too, ive tried making my own with the unreal thing, didnt work out too well, so ive decided to go with loading it from a floppy driver, im trying to make it where it will load in 32 bit mode, and load a 640x480 256 bmp, but i still havnt had any luck yet
Post 27 Jun 2005, 18:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
I have made you a demo to display a 640x480 24bpp, in pmode, to show how long it will take to load, put the demo on a floppy and reboot your pc, at the prompt type
run vesabmp.bin
If you have vesa 2 , it will print "press any key to load bmp" from pressing the key till the image is displayed is the time it takes to load.
As this demo runs on "Dex4u" you can run any commands or programs for "Dex4u"
type "help" to list commands or "GUI" for graphic mode.
http://www.dex4u.com/Dex4uBmp.zip
Post 28 Jun 2005, 10:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
jas20



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Australia
jas20
I remember that picture Smile

I see the GUI now looks like cdpod.

I didn't know dex4u would work this bin files.

Do you want me to update the screenshot? (gui)

This is the first Dex4u ver I got to make a working image (using the floppy maker).

I'll see if any of my computers support AC97.

Jas20
Post 28 Jun 2005, 10:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
@jas2o, yes it work with "bin" files and a screenshot will be great Smile, which do you think looks better ?, old GUI or new GUI.

The bmp image is a old favourite of mine, it will be the wall paper for "Dex4u" one day, as soon as i finish the jpeg viewer Cool.
900K is to big to load from a floppy on boot up, but 64k is ok.
Post 28 Jun 2005, 15:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
jas20



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Australia
jas20
First of all, I think you should make a command similar to the text viewer but as the bmp image viewer. This way we could load our own bmp.

Since you said something about a calcpod (something like that) then looks like the GUI will be based on a 'pod' design. Speaking of CalcPOD, the shape should be perfect for If we get mouse support.

I'll put the new screenshot on my site once it is done.

Jas20
Post 28 Jun 2005, 22:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Good idea jas2o Smile.
Post 29 Jun 2005, 09:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.