flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > win64 64 bit source samples, executables

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
MazeGen



Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Posts: 977
Location: Czechoslovakia
MazeGen
It seems so, but the manual is very laconic in this point.
Could anybody confirm this?
Post 15 Feb 2006, 20:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Maybe any emulator will be able to emulate old nostalgic 16-bit world under win64 (qemu? bochs? ...)

vid - thankx, I will move debugger in project section at the next time - then it may be finished I hope...
Post 16 Feb 2006, 06:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Vitaliy Jungle



Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Belarus, Grodno
Vitaliy Jungle
Hello, Feryno! Thanks for the reply! Yes, I’ve tried to link a05.sys 64-bit driver to my test 32-bit application compiled with Borland Delphi 6.0, because I’m not experienced in pure ASM enough. I used classic Win32 Service API functions – OpenSCManager, OpenService, CreateService and so on. My test application successfully registers the driver in the Service Manager and starts it, but when I’m trying to communicate with the driver, e.g. to read any DWORD port, using a classic WriteFile function exported from kernel32 in result I receive zeros. Maybe I should fill both wparam and lparam parameters? Currently, I put a port address into the wparam only.

p.s. I’m glad to hear the driver works perfectly with legacy applications!
Post 16 Feb 2006, 09:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Hello, Vitaliy,
I suppose that Delphi 6 isn't able to produce "hybrid" code (32+64 bit mixed together), it produce only pure 32-bit and you aren't able to use first 2 IO (DRIVER_QUERY_PROC_NOARGS, DRIVER_QUERY_PROC_STDCALL).
But other IO should work, especialy things you have tried. Maybe Delphi produce 1 dword = 4 bytes for iocode, wparam, lparam instead of 1 qword = 8 bytes... so the size is 0Ch, not 18h ?

I got a few system resets during trying to change offsets for handle 32-bit app request in 64-bit a05 driver. Then I decided, that a05.sys should be good and I focused on 32-bit user application. For the first try, I got a correct value returned by reading CMOS year byte by DRIVER_QUERY_PORT_OUT_BYTE folowed by DRIVER_QUERY_PORT_IN_BYTE and then a system hang after executing 32-bit procedure with 64-bit a05.sys (but fortunately no reset, only brutaly slow system reactions -> no correct shutdown after a few minutes of waiting, only reset button on PC-case helped... I like so much to explain to win2003 server what have happend... on recovery boot I like to choose possibility like Power failure or AC cord unplugged instead of nonexisting System reset by lamer code...)
Procedure in 32-bit app was
proc_to_execute_in_64_bit:
...
mov eax,20000000h
L0:
dec eax
or eax,eax
jnz L0
...
ret

opcodes were:
B800000020 mov eax,20000000
L0:
48 dec eax
09C0 or eax,eax
75FB jnz L0

and disassembling them in 64-bit world:
B800000020 mov eax,20000000
L0:
4809C0 or rax,rax
75FB jnz L0

So I saw that loop assembled under 32-bit is neverending loop under 64-bit because byte 48 is REX prefix in 64 and no anymore dec eax as in 32 bit. I just added directive use64 at begin of proc_to_execute_in_64 and then 32-bit user app did what I expected, everything was correct.

But back into your problem... You tried to write to the driver. You have to write exactly 3 qwords = 18h bytes to it, because driver verify this
;cmp [rsi + IO_STACK_LOCATION.Parameters.Write.dwLength],sizeof.DriverQuery
cmp dword [rsi + 8],3*8
jnz ...

Just prepare 18h bytes buffer in Delphi, put iocode at offset 0, port at offset 8 (wparam) and last qword (lparam) may be empty, it is used to send the result of value read from port back to the user app.
I don't know how it will be coded under Delphi, but only a few things are necessary when read from port by 32-bit user app:
1. iocode e.g. DRIVER_QUERY_PORT_IN_BYTE = 20h at offset 0
2. port number at offset 8
3. write to the driver 18h bytes exactly.
4. then you can grab value returned by reading of port at offset 10h of structure sent to the driver.
Please send a feedback of your succes, it must be done in delphi too, but delphi is for me much more complex than clear asm code, so I'm not able to help you more.
Post 17 Feb 2006, 12:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Vitaliy Jungle



Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Belarus, Grodno
Vitaliy Jungle
Hello, Feryno!

Thank you for your respond! Frankly speaking, I’m have never saw a man who have spent so much time for the problem of unknown person. Thank you!

So, as for Delphi 6.0, which was developed in 2001, it compiles projects into 32-bit applications only. Of course, it supports 32-bit inline assembler and can operate with MMX/3Dnow!/SSE instructions, but nothing more! Nonetheless, it supports a new int64 integer type which lies in the range of –2^63..2^63–1.

Well, I’ve made some corrections regarding your notice in the source code of my test application. So, below is the source code to read from the byte port. I think you are able to read it, because it’s very simple to understand and has no any significant differences in comparing with FASM code:

Code:
type
  TR0DriverQuery = record
    iocode : int64; // user I/O code
    wparam : int64; // parameter
    lparam : int64; // parameter
  end;

//the same record on FASM
;struct DriverQuery
;  iocode dq ? ; user I/O code
;  wparam dq ? ; parameter
;  lparam dq ? ; parameter
;ends  

function GetPortByte(PortAddr: Word) : byte;
var
  dwResult : DWORD;
  PortInBQuery : TR0DriverQuery;
begin
  PortInBQuery.iocode:=$20;
  PortInBQuery.wparam:=PortAddr;
  PortInBQuery.lparam:=$00;
  if WriteFile(hDriver,
               PortInBQuery,
               SizeOf(PortInBQuery), //the size is 18h
               dwResult,
               nil) then
    begin
      Result:=dwResult;
      showmessage('HELLO!'); //it’s just 4 debugging purposes. OK!
    end else Result:=$FF;
end;
    

Unfortunately, the problem is the same. I receive zeros in dwResult, but the function succeeds now! This is due to your notice about 24-byte size of in buffer. The function failed before, because I allocated 12-byte buffer (3 variables with DWORD type).

Also, I decided to disassemble an EXE file in OllyDebugger, PE Explorer 1.96 and WDASM 10. There was no any difference. So, below is the screen dump of my GetPortByte function gotten in OllyDebugger:

Image

Well, This evening I’ll install Borland Delphi 2005 Architect that is much newer. Maybe this will solve the problem. BTW, your optimized 64-bit a05.sys driver works perfectly with its code native write_device application!
Good luck, Feryno!
Post 17 Feb 2006, 17:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
r22
Any macros for PE64 resource sections? Or a ported Dialogue example.
Post 19 Feb 2006, 02:35
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Vitaliy Jungle



Joined: 11 Feb 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Belarus, Grodno
Vitaliy Jungle
Feryno, I have found an example of 64-bit driver that works with ports too - http://www.logix4u.net/inpout64.htm So, I have linked it to my 32-bit application and all works fine! Besides, I’ve dissembled 64-bit driver of ASUS PC Probe utility to find some I/O codes to communicate with I/O ports. Fortunately, I linked the driver too and it works fine for me! So, I’m sure there is no any problem around applications compiled with Delphi 6.0! Good luck!
Post 19 Feb 2006, 12:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Hello Vitaliy, you received zeros in dwResult, it meens that writing to device succeeded. You should receive value of port reading in lparam - not in dwResult.
try Result:=PortInBQuery.lparam
I'm surprised of "economical" code produced by delphi! Disassembled looks well, fast, without unnecessary ballast.

Hello r22,
fdbg have resource, look into fdbg.asm in sources
another sample http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=33645#33645

Hello everybody,
I tried bochs emulator and it was able to run pure 16-bit dos under win64. Of course slow emulation only, no real V86...
DOSBox emulator works well in win64 too.
Post 20 Feb 2006, 09:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
valy



Joined: 01 Aug 2003
Posts: 14
Location: France
valy
Hi Feryno

I really appreciate your fdbg0003 Smile

A few bugs when displaying the following opcodes:
movntq [rdi+8],mm2
movq [12345678],mm1 => 0f 7f 0c is displayed first, then 25 78 56 34 12 as if it were a 2nd instruction Sad
The same with: movq [045DF31h+rbx*8],mm0:
it displays three lines: "0f 7f 04" then "dd 31" then "df 45 00"
I think u can say the same with any "movq mem,mmx" instruction.

Another problem with jnz mylabel when jnz is coded 0f 85...
Try for instance: 0f 85 10 10 00 00, bad display

Keep the good work Cool

Regards
valy

_________________
Easier, faster
Post 07 Mar 2006, 12:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Thanx to everybody for finding disasm mistakes and to improve fdbg !
Long conditional jump mistake was caused by forgotten adding of opcode size and this was fixed in
http://board.flatassembler.net/download.php?id=2087
from 2006 Feb 15
Fix was simple by replace old bad add rax,rbx with new correct lea rax,[rbp+rax+6] where rbp is absolute offset of opcode, rax relative jump offset, 6 opcode size. The whole 0F80-0F8F group of long conditional jumps was affected and then fixed.

Mistake described by Valy was caused by destroying opcode size in RAX, so simple push rax, pop rax helped to fix it. According to Valy's experiences, both movntq (0F7F) and movq (0FE7) was affected and then fixed, later I found another instruction with the same mistake - movd (0F7E).

Again, Alorent and Valy, thanx you very much guys for improving fdbg, your names are now included in sources as well displayed in fdbg help.

Now I plane to add API name after displaying API call,
something like:
call qword [00000001000031D4] ; Kernel32.CloseHandle
Today it's displayed call qword [00000001000031D4] only - which tells you nothing.

Edit from 2006 03 13
updated final version of fdbg0004 in attachment - displaying API name after call instruction is implemented

edit 2011-11-30 deleted fdbg0004_final_20060311.zip because of quota limit


Last edited by Feryno on 30 Nov 2011, 12:11; edited 1 time in total
Post 09 Mar 2006, 09:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
alorent



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 201
alorent
Thanks a lot for the update Feryno! I love this debugger more each day! Very Happy

Would it be possible to make a WhatsNew.txt file, so we know what's new in upcoming versions and we are ready to try those new features Wink

So, do you plan to improve the user interface? That will be great, I'm sure that will attract a lot of people to your debugger! Wink


Keep the good work!
Alorent
Post 16 Mar 2006, 00:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
r22
Feryno, great job. Seems to disassemble even the larger files pretty quickly.

Some GUI ideas:
-Make sure you can copy text from it. Block copy even better so you can copy just code. or just the the addresses and raw opcodes
-Make the window fit in 800x600 res
Post 16 Mar 2006, 06:11
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Thanx guys for reply, now I know that people use fdbg and that's the motivation for me to improve it.
It will have include file what's new.
It would be good to add help file to it.
Functionality is completely done, I tried to develop especially the fastest disasm routine (using conditional moves, xmm calculated hexa transformations and reduce jumps, calls, memory access). Disassembling is very fast, but source of disasm routine isn't clear enough, just at the time of finishing of disasm routines I got the idea how to do it clearer (when I almost lost my orientation in by finishing SSE/SSE2/SSE3 disasm).
It's the time to improve fdbg face. No everybody has drivers for graphics card, so someone is able to use only 640x480 or 800x600 resolution with 16 colors.
To fit it into this resolution, it is necessary to make it multiwindowed, so user is able to turn on/off child windows to display only necessary things (e.g. only disassmebled instructions and general purpose regs and stack ON and e.g. XMM and MM regs OFF). It's Alorent's idea, I like it. I saw it in Jeremy's Gordon GoBug.exe
Listboxes display what they have to display but don't support copy to clipboard function now, this is necessary to implement.
Post 16 Mar 2006, 08:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
alorent



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 201
alorent
Hi Feryno,

I'm happy that you are motivated to continue with this project. I hope to see some improvements again.

I really respect your work.

Alorent.
Post 16 Mar 2006, 21:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
leh
Guest




leh
Post 21 Mar 2006, 07:29
Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Hello guys, especially Alorent and r22 !
Implemented what you suggested: copy to clipboard, rearrange ListViews, save 'face' on exit and reload by next startup.
Migrated to Project and Ideas forum - fdbg isn't sample anymore, but a real project - later versions will be there:
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=36918#36918
Using, testing, reports, ideas are welcome.
Post 03 Apr 2006, 14:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Please go to Projects and Ideas section

http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=37236#37236

fdbg 'camouflage' (I have never seen this in any debugger, but I had these ideas and I have transformed them into reality)
- hide itself against IsDebuggerPresent
- hide itself against FindWindow (needs fdbg restart)
- camouflage TrapFlag (avoid to detect debugger by save TrapFlag by pushf)
Post 10 Apr 2006, 14:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Garthower



Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Location: Ukraine
Garthower
Hi to all!

I have such question - whether there is an opportunity to use extensions x64 under Win32, but started on AMD64 platform?
Post 21 Apr 2006, 14:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
r22
You'd have to change the CPU's processing mode.

This question has been asked a lot Garthower, and the general answer seems to be "You can't use x86-64 on a 32bit OS."

Even if you made some sort of driver that could switch the CPU to long mode none of the win32 API's would work and the addressing would be all messed up. It just wouldn't be worth it.

Win XP64 is surprisingly, not that bloated.
If you sacrifice:
-System Restore
-Administrative Tools
-Sound
You can run Win XP64bit with barely any memory, overhead, or loss of functionality (except for the above stated).


Description: Task Manager ScreenShot
Filesize: 40 KB
Viewed: 2529 Time(s)

TaskMan.GIF


Post 23 Apr 2006, 04:27
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
to r22 - nice configuration !!!
to all - fdbg0007:
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?p=37847#37847
Post 23 Apr 2006, 10:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.