flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Fasm supports Intel processors but what about amd?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
when making an operating system in fasm it works fine under an intel processor, but not on an amd.. will this be fixed? thanks!
Post 05 May 2005, 02:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Redragon wrote:
when making an operating system in fasm it works fine under an intel processor, but not on an amd.. will this be fixed? thanks!


Hm, FASM works fine on every x86 compatible (32 or 64bit) processor, including all AMD processors.
Please, describe the problem you have in details.

Regards
Post 05 May 2005, 04:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
when i compile the operating system and test it on an intel processor, it works like it should, everything works great... but when i test it on an amd processor, it wont work right... hope this helps
Post 05 May 2005, 11:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 878
Location: Colombia
pelaillo
What opcode(s) is causing the problem?
Post 05 May 2005, 12:42
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
I am having problems understanding this thread. So I'm going to ask some questions. Please answer them specifically and with examples.

1) Are you compiling on two different systems? One being AMD the other is an Intel?

2) What are the specific processors?

3) What code is failing? Please provide the code you are refering to.

4) How is the OS loaded? (GRUB, bootstrap code you made, etcetera)

5) What are the errors that you are expereiencing? Specifically what show up on the screen, printer, error log, etcetera.

6) How many bits is the OS? 8-bit, 16-bit, 32-bit, or 64-bit? All?

7) What is not working right, specifically? Don't just say the OS, say something like the memory manager within the code doesn't assign memory properly like it does on the Intel, or the console driver doesn't seem to write anything to the screen only on the AMD. You know, something along those lines.

Perhaps answering these questions specifically might help us to help you.

From what you've written I can not ascertain much. You have two processor in which you test on, and you're using FASM to compile your code. It seems that the Intel processor runs the code ok, but the AMD doesn't, without specifying what is failing.
Post 05 May 2005, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Redragon



Joined: 27 Nov 2004
Posts: 101
Location: U.S.
Redragon
Quote:
1) Are you compiling on two different systems? One being AMD the other is an Intel?

2) What are the specific processors?

3) What code is failing? Please provide the code you are refering to.

4) How is the OS loaded? (GRUB, bootstrap code you made, etcetera)

5) What are the errors that you are expereiencing? Specifically what show up on the screen, printer, error log, etcetera.

6) How many bits is the OS? 8-bit, 16-bit, 32-bit, or 64-bit? All?

7) What is not working right, specifically? Don't just say the OS, say something like the memory manager within the code doesn't assign memory properly like it does on the Intel, or the console driver doesn't seem to write anything to the screen only on the AMD. You know, something along those lines.


What the code does is, loads up real mode, vesa, A20, proctected mode.. it draws a bg color on the screen, and a small taskbar at the bottom with the text, menu on it..

1.) I'm compiling on one system, my laptop, which has a pentium 4 2.8ghz

2.) Pentium 4 2.8ghz (my laptop)
The computer that i test the complied code on is an AMD, i dont know the spesifications

3.) The code compiles fine, but when the OS boots on the AMD, the screen goes blue, then restarts.. but when testing on an Intel works fine

4.) the OS is loaded by a floppy

5.) answered in 3

6.) it uses 32

7.) answered in 3
Post 05 May 2005, 20:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bogdanontanu



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Sol. Earth. Europe. Romania. Bucuresti
bogdanontanu
Probably it is a mistake in your OS (some wrong assumptions you make) and you think that FASM is not supporting AMD... i imagine you are joking Very Happy

On how many computer have you really thested your "OS" ?

I takes a lot of testing on a lot of different computers to find all the possible problems or bugs inside and OS...

I usually test on P1,P2,P3,P4 for Intel and Duron, Thunderbird from AMD

Are you using something specific to P4 only ? like some SSE or MMX2 extensions without first checking IF the CPU has such features?
Post 05 May 2005, 23:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
It's more likely he has interrupts enabled without setting up proper handlers, and it miraculously works on the intel because no ints are fired Smile
Post 06 May 2005, 06:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 559
smiddy
FASM is not your problem. It is your code. You'll have to troubleshoot it.
Post 06 May 2005, 09:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.