flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > PC problem... please help!

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
Hmm... I think it's a hardware problem... I don't know because hardware is not what I'm a master...
My PC is working good, but suddenly it turns off (even if I do nothing on it)... and sometimes it just won't turn on... But the LEDS keep "on", and the cooler keeps working... it just doesn't show video or processor working...
I don't know what it is... it works is very random way... sometimes it keeps working, sometimes it turns off after some minutes...

Please help me!
Sorry for my bad english!
I'm from Brazil... so any people who want to speak portuguese is ok... but english is ok too...

Thanks!
Post 15 Apr 2005, 16:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Vasilev Vjacheslav



Joined: 11 Aug 2004
Posts: 392
Vasilev Vjacheslav
check temperature of processor, maybe it is overheating, also it can be power supply
Post 15 Apr 2005, 17:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
The CPU temperature is 43°C / 109°F... is it too much hot?

Thanks!
Post 15 Apr 2005, 17:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
veach1



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 165
veach1
43C is not much, my AMD 1ghz runs healthy on 53C.
Try to exclude hardware part by part and check how PC works.
Take away sound card, try how PC works, take away modem... and so on, till only 3 parts remains: motherboard, videocard, RAM (yes, take away even HDD, FDD and CD drive), if problem remains try to change sequentially one by one: RAM, videocard and power supply. Actually, better start from changing power supply as Vasilev Vjacheslav told. That way you`ll find evill seed living in your PC.

By the way, what is configuration of your PC?
Post 15 Apr 2005, 18:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
UCM



Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 285
Location: Canada
UCM
How long have you had your computer?

_________________
This calls for... Ultra CRUNCHY Man!
Ta da!! *crunch*
Post 15 Apr 2005, 22:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY
Athlon XP 2000+
Asus Motherboard
HD 40 GB
CD-RW
.
.
.
I have been using this PC for 2 years.

I don't know, I think the problem is with the motherboard... what do you think?
I'm using the PC fine, but suddenly it just stops to show video and audio, but the leds and the cooler keep working... sometimes it reboot (and keep rebooting) and sometimes not...
Sometimes it just won't turn on... it will only turn on again if I unplug from the power supply and replug it, and then press the power button of the PC again...

Thanks!
Post 24 Apr 2005, 04:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Sometimes this effect appears because of the low quality power unit.
Post 24 Apr 2005, 04:43
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
rob.rice



Joined: 20 Dec 2003
Posts: 54
rob.rice
see if you can find a used power supply
or you may need to clean the dust out of
the one you have
Post 24 Apr 2005, 17:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MCD



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 604
Location: Germany
MCD
JohnFound wrote:
Sometimes this effect appears because of the low quality power unit.
Yeaahh, I head this problem too. But it depends on what you have all attached to it. Especially new video cards require lots of power, so this may be the reason for this error.

Also, if you have checked to unplug most hardware, try downloading new drivers. I am currently using the ASUS video-card driver v56.55 for the V7100 Geforce 2 32MB MX400, it is quite an optimized driver, but accidentially turns the VGA output off after you have booted you PC and OS and wanna display some bitmaps (I guess its DDBs) before starting any hardware acceleration, like 3D acceleration or video overlay. I should also download a newer driver for this.

_________________
MCD - the inevitable return of the Mad Computer Doggy

-||__/
.|+-~
.|| ||
Post 26 Apr 2005, 12:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.