flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > FASM 1K OpenGL Intro "iN THE MiST OF WEB"

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tyler Durden



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Tyler Durden
Hi, I'm wrote an 1K OpenGL intro in FASM. All the sources included
download it here (if it downloads "download.php" rename it to "*.zip", it's because of stupid download.php script, I'll fix it later)

P.S. Now only included WinXP SP1 version, and SAFE (all win32 versions) one...

_________________
Image


Last edited by Tyler Durden on 17 Feb 2005, 13:14; edited 1 time in total
Post 17 Feb 2005, 11:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
MCD



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 604
Location: Germany
MCD
Nice "3D" Demo. But horrible syntax, e.g. no tabbing for instructions. ugh!
Post 17 Feb 2005, 11:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tyler Durden



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Tyler Durden
Tabs sucks ! Wink

_________________
Image
Post 17 Feb 2005, 13:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
safe.exe crashes on XP SP2...
Post 17 Feb 2005, 17:50
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
asmdemon



Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 97
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
asmdemon
works fine on my XP SP2
Post 17 Feb 2005, 22:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
MCD



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 604
Location: Germany
MCD
works fine on my XP SP2 too
Post 18 Feb 2005, 11:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Works in XP SP1/2, Win2K, 98SE fine - only slow in the beginning ~100frames it becomes faster I don't know what code is behind all this but impressive Very Happy
Post 18 Feb 2005, 12:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
Tyler Durden



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Tyler Durden
"This" includes all sources in the "sources" directory, inside the archive Wink

_________________
Image
Post 18 Feb 2005, 19:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
rambo



Joined: 28 Feb 2005
Posts: 22
Location: posen, poland
rambo
1) instead of "ShowCursor", use "SetCursor" with the same parameter.

2) floats. don`t define any constat-float in data section! if you want push some float on stack do like that:

Code:
push float_value
    


if you`re using float, eg. 0.55, two times, you can do like that

Code:
push float_value
..
push float_value

or:

some_value equ $+1
push float_value
..
push dword ptr [some_value]
    


3) found in your source:

Code:
zDelta dd 0.02
colorMul dd 0.02
    


i think, that you know, what`s wrong..

4) you haven`t to use:

Code:
invoke ChangeDisplaySettings,ebx,ebx
    


at program`s end. windows will restore window after "ExitProcess" call.

5)
Code:
invoke GetAsyncKeyState,VK_ESCAPE
test eax,eax
jz .draw
    


may be replaced with:

Code:
invoke GetAsyncKeyState,VK_ESCAPE
aaa
jz .draw
    


1 byte less :)

6) you can also write pre-packer of all hard-coded floats (float2word), but it`s good only for intros with 3d models and a lot of dwords..

7) on pouet.net in comments, i told, that you haven`t to fill dev_mode struct. it`s true. only thing, that you should do, is hardcode that struct, and then just put offset to that.. it`s smaller, and additionally you may mix that struct with pixel_format.. i did like that in my 4k framework. there is much more tricks to strip-down final output.
Post 03 Mar 2005, 11:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler Durden



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Tyler Durden
Wink the same
the same
just an "old version" stuff, in the "exe" there is no "0.02,0.02" only one of it
someone said "after exit resolution is badly changed" in "god put a smile upon your face" intro, so I change it "that's way"
much bigger (we packing with "cab" the resulting file's size depends on data/code "packable" placement)
the "hardcoded" stuff doesn't substruct any bytes from the resulting "cab"
and IT'S ALLREADY 1023b Wink

_________________
Image
Post 04 Mar 2005, 06:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
crackrock



Joined: 09 Apr 2005
Posts: 3
crackrock
freakin' sweet demo. works fine on my athlon 2600, winxp, gf4 machine
Post 10 Apr 2005, 00:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.