flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > cant find acpi

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932 09 Aug 2010, 11:51
Code:
mov ax,0
mov bx,0
more:
mov ds,ax




cmp word [0],'RS'
jne not_match
cmp word [2],'D '
jne not_match
cmp word [4],'PT'
jne not_match
cmp word [6],'R '
jne not_match

inc bx




not_match:

inc ax
cmp ax,0

jne more
jmp $    

0 matches, why?
Post 09 Aug 2010, 11:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Alphonso



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Alphonso 09 Aug 2010, 15:38
I tried your code in Bochs 2.4.5 under DOS and it worked Ok.


Last edited by Alphonso on 10 Aug 2010, 09:30; edited 1 time in total
Post 09 Aug 2010, 15:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DJ Mauretto



Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 464
Location: Rome,Italy
DJ Mauretto 09 Aug 2010, 16:45
Code:
 xor di,di
   mov bx,0f000h
       mov ds,bx

@@:

        cmp word [di],'RS'
        jne not_match
       cmp word [di+2],'D '
      jne not_match
       cmp word [di+4],'PT'
      jne not_match
       cmp word [di+6],'R '
      je  @found

not_match:

        add di,10h
  jnz @b

  'print not found'

@found:

  'print found'    ; ds:di = Address
    

_________________
Nil Volentibus Arduum Razz
Post 09 Aug 2010, 16:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932 09 Aug 2010, 19:54
i can find it in normal os (although last pointer is 0x00000000 wich i doubt is correct address).

i still cant find it under bochs, and it has acpi support. wtf. help me.
Post 09 Aug 2010, 19:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Alphonso



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 295
Alphonso 10 Aug 2010, 10:15
Since your code works under DOS in bochs maybe your booting straight to your code and your print routine doesn't work. Hard to guess without further info.
Post 10 Aug 2010, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
cod3b453



Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 618
cod3b453 10 Aug 2010, 12:12
You should scan the first kB of the EBDA at 0x9FC00-0x9FFFF* and BIOS ROM at 0xE0000-0xFFFFF. The table should be aligned to a 16 byte boundary.

*or better still the segment given by word at 0x0040E in BDA
Post 10 Aug 2010, 12:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932 10 Aug 2010, 20:48
i am scanning everything < 1MB, its just not there :/ even on not aligned boundary. nothing!
Post 10 Aug 2010, 20:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
b1528932



Joined: 21 May 2010
Posts: 287
b1528932 27 Oct 2010, 18:23
bump
Post 27 Oct 2010, 18:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.