flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > OCTA OS

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
FSD wrote:
The new release is identified internally as 0.162.

Is a mistake in the docs, too much heat for my head these days.
Post 03 Aug 2007, 15:31
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
Small update of OctaOs , Werner has added support for german keyboard
Post 09 Aug 2007, 23:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
I have updated my page
octa os v209 news:
hd dma driver
chkdsk & undelete disk tools
now minimum requirements are 4MB ram and 80486 cpu
corrected a lot of bugs
Post 15 Feb 2008, 11:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
tom tobias



Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 1320
Location: usa
tom tobias
Octavio wrote:
...hd dma driver ...
Thanks Octavio. I have a question. In olden times, we used DMA to serve as a kind of SECOND cpu, in a way, i.e. something that could operate more or less in parallel with the main cpu. While the main cpu was crunching numbers, the DMA could bring in the next set of data to be analyzed, for example. However, back then, the DMA speed, circa 5Mhz, and the cpu speed were more or less similar, so the penalty associated with DMA taking over the bus, wresting control from the cpu, was minimal, in the worst case, a duty cycle of 1: 1 was obtained. Yet, today, with cpu's running in multiple gigahertz, the old DMA controller is a bit of an albatross. When it occupies the bus, the cpu is shut out, and that corresponds to 90% of the time, in modern systems....
Do you not find that Octa OS v209 runs quite slowly, with the dma controller active?
Confused
Post 15 Feb 2008, 20:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17624
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
DMA = can multi-thread now.
DMA = CPU can sleep to save power now.

UDMA = the way to go with modern HDD's
Post 15 Feb 2008, 20:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
tom tobias wrote:
Octavio wrote:
...hd dma driver ...
Thanks Octavio. I have a question. In olden times, we used DMA to serve as a kind of SECOND cpu, in a way, i.e. something that could operate more or less in parallel with the main cpu. While the main cpu was crunching numbers, the DMA could bring in the next set of data to be analyzed, for example. However, back then, the DMA speed, circa 5Mhz, and the cpu speed were more or less similar, so the penalty associated with DMA taking over the bus, wresting control from the cpu, was minimal, in the worst case, a duty cycle of 1: 1 was obtained. Yet, today, with cpu's running in multiple gigahertz, the old DMA controller is a bit of an albatross. When its occupies the bu, the cpu is shut out, and that corresponds to 90% of the time, in modern systems....
Do you not find that Octa OS v209 runs quite slowly, with the dma controller active?
Confused

when i say 'DMA' i'm not talking about 8237 dma chips but about pci bus master or ultra dma.

dma do not occupies the bus ,it just reduces the memory bandwith
for example, if the memory bandwith of my computer(P3 900) is 300MB/s
when the disk is reading data at 58MB/s(40GB barracuda seagate disk) then the memory bandwith will be only 240MB/s but since the cpu works mostly with the cache this is not noticeable.When the disk is not active the speed is the same.
Older PIO driver was much slower it takes about 5 minutes to compute the
MD5 of a 700MB file while with the new driver this is done in 14 seconds.
Now the OS boots from hd 0.2 seconds faster and fasm assembles itself
in 0.0 seconds (0.09?)

Windows and Linux use dma too, not PIO.
If OctaOs now is slower there should be some problem/bug.
Post 15 Feb 2008, 20:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pfranz



Joined: 13 Jan 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Italy
pfranz
I tried OctaOS 0.209 on four machines and I got the following errors:

K6-III 500Mhz 64Mb ram (Hard disk with unusable sector 0): 0006h:0011h
486 with 12Mb ram: 0001h:0000h
Duron 1,1Ghz 128Mb ram: halts working with hard disk
Celeron 1,3Ghz 256Mb ram: same behaviour saying "atapi error"

All tests were made using a (good) floppy, I tried the CD on Duron but I got error 010e: 0005. Version 0.208 works quite fine.
Did anyone in the forum get any problem?
If you want to debug, Octavio, my mail is alway the same.
Post 23 Feb 2008, 17:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
Thanks for testing, but test the last version 0.210 in version 0.209 i forget
to enable the floppy driver.

does the 486 have math coprocesor?
could you test if octasm for dos works on the 486.
Post 23 Feb 2008, 23:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Chewy509



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 297
Location: Bris-vegas, Australia
Chewy509
Octavio wrote:

does the 486 have math coprocesor?

The i486DX, i486DX2, i486DX4 all do, however the i486SX does NOT.

All Pentiums and above do have an integrated FPU.
Post 24 Feb 2008, 07:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
I have updated my web with octaos v0.212 and octasm v0.168
there are drivers for usb controllers ehci,ohci and uhci ,ohci is not enabled by default because needs to be tested.
Post 25 May 2008, 14:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
have updated my web with octaos v0.214.
This is the first version that can boot from usb ,at least on my new Acer aspire one.
There is also a new driver for usb keyboard and mouse.
Post 08 Jun 2009, 11:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
rCX



Joined: 29 Jul 2007
Posts: 166
Location: Maryland, USA
rCX
This may be a dumb question but how do you write the USB image to the drive?
Post 08 Jun 2009, 20:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
rCX wrote:
This may be a dumb question but how do you write the USB image to the drive?

Depends on wich OS do you have.
look here:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UNR/Installation/Hard
with octaos i use the menu options copy (img file) and rawrite (usb drive)
Post 11 Jun 2009, 10:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
v0.215
faster zlib
uses mtrr to increase videomemory speed
compatible with PXE and multiboot booting methods
ide pio drivers
write ext2 files without changing file size
Post 07 Aug 2009, 16:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
OctaOs version 0.23 can be downloaded here:
http://www.sac.sk/
the filenames are: hd23.zip cd23.zip fd23.zip
news:
v0.23
key F8 writes cache data to disk
transparent read/write zip files
suport for wide screen videomodes (915RES.ASM)
many changes in filesystem code.
virtual filesystem can adress up to 4096 drives of 16 hexabytes
prnscreen works with all videomodes
Post 29 Apr 2010, 16:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
Cool nice work, i will give a spin.
Post 29 Apr 2010, 20:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bogdanontanu



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Sol. Earth. Europe. Romania. Bucuresti
bogdanontanu
Congratulations Octavio as always Wink
Post 29 Apr 2010, 21:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pabloreda



Joined: 24 Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Location: Argentina
pabloreda
Nice work Octavio !

Why not make a common interface hard<->SO to make SolarOS, DexOS, OctaOS compatible ? only the minimun

I's only an idea..
I prefers people like you defining a estandar
Post 07 May 2010, 00:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
erased by error ┬┐how can i delete this post?


Last edited by Octavio on 26 Oct 2010, 16:38; edited 2 times in total
Post 10 May 2010, 16:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Octavio



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 366
Location: Spain
Octavio
Hello,I have upload Octasm v0.17 (DOS) and Octaos v0.25 to my web page.

News:
Now the same disk image is used for all booting methods: fd,cd,hd,usb...
development tools for atmel avr8 microcontrollers:assembler+flip+headers+some documentation+example code
Dos version of octasm do not includes the usb programmer(flip).
Post 26 Oct 2010, 16:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.