flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > is there any AMD64 emulator for windows xp?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Theo



Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Theo
Just great! flatassembler support now x64.

is there any AMD64 emulator for windows xp? i mean the x64 emulator runs on the 32bit win xp.

Question


Last edited by Theo on 27 Mar 2005, 16:07; edited 1 time in total
Post 26 Mar 2005, 20:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
VMware 5.0
Post 27 Mar 2005, 00:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Theo



Joined: 19 Mar 2005
Posts: 7
Theo
thanks but i just need a emulator to run my simple program not an OS.
Post 27 Mar 2005, 09:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2141
Location: Estonia
Madis731
It IS an emulator - OS is something like Menuet Very Happy
Post 27 Mar 2005, 10:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
How do you think why there is a V-86 mode? To run 16-bit apps on 32-bit hw, to run 32-bit apps on 64-bit hw. But there's NO any system allowing to run 64-bit apps on 32-bit hw. I mean hw support. Why? Because it will be TOO slow and TOO inconvenient and TOO incorrectly from the marketing side IMHO. Yes, there's a VMware which support AMD Opteron, AMD Athlon 64, and Intel EM64T sw emulation but I haven't tried it yet so I can say nothing. Do you mean something like Wine to run WOW? I don't know if there is any.
Anyway it's not so hard to install 64-bit Windows on a VM and run your apps within it.
Post 27 Mar 2005, 11:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
iklin



Joined: 20 Mar 2004
Posts: 120
Location: Russia, Siberia
iklin
There is BOSCH and linux64 image for it. But it won't work for 32bit machine. Sad (Maybe I'm doing something wrong? Maybe not...)
Post 27 Mar 2005, 15:59
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
FlashBurn



Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 87
FlashBurn
It has to be Bochs and the 64bit linux image is owrking, but WindowsXP 64 isn´t working. Also I don´t think that The 64bit Windows will work in VMWare, because it doesn´t simulate the whole system!
Post 27 Mar 2005, 16:23
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
alorent



Joined: 05 Dec 2005
Posts: 201
alorent
What about simics? www.virtutech.se
Post 05 Dec 2005, 23:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Artlav



Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Moscow, Russia
Artlav
https://www.simics.net

I's a very good sim, that can boot 64-bit windows, but:
Too expensive, if you get the personal license.
Needs an university domain based email for free academic license.

So, it's not for a hobbyst program development...
Post 06 Dec 2005, 04:22
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.