flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Fresh Alpha 1.1.3

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 12 Feb 2006, 10:15
Here comes new version of Fresh.

This is mostly clean-up release. Some bugs were fixed. Most important changes are:

  • Fresh headers and macroinstructions are now completely compatible with those from FASMW distribution. Of course there are some additional macros (like iglobal/endg), but now you can compile any application that can be compiled with FASMW.
  • Due to extension of fasm core, two functions responsible for collecting symbol names and symbol values were combined into one. Now code is clearer, and compilation is a little faster.
  • Added small library for storing user preferences.

See Project History for details.

download Fresh Alpha 1.1.3: http://fresh.flatassembler.net/x2download.html


Last edited by decard on 31 Mar 2006, 09:29; edited 1 time in total
Post 12 Feb 2006, 10:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Crukko



Joined: 26 Nov 2005
Posts: 118
Crukko 13 Feb 2006, 03:08
I think there is a bug in the Comment/Uncomment routines: if you use uncomment on a normal line it becames commented.
Is there a check on the first char if it's ';' or another one?
Post 13 Feb 2006, 03:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 13 Feb 2006, 07:41
Proably it is not a bug but intended behaviour. But it shouldn't behave like this... so I will fix it Smile
Post 13 Feb 2006, 07:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY 13 Feb 2006, 19:28
decard wrote:
Proably it is not a bug but intended behaviour. But it shouldn't behave like this... so I will fix it Smile


LOL Laughing
As I always say "My code never has bugs, just random features!" Laughing

Hmm... Fresh is supporting code completion? Like, I type:
Quote:

invoke Mess

And it shows the tips:
Quote:

MessageBox
MessageBeep


I works with RADasm. I'd like to see it in Fresh, as it is the IDE for FASM.
I looked at a later version of Fresh, and I couldn't get the code completion to work.
I'm waiting for this feature.[/quote]
Post 13 Feb 2006, 19:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 13 Feb 2006, 21:34
Ozzy wrote:
LOL Laughing
As I always say "My code never has bugs, just random features!" Laughing

But it is not my code Wink


Ozzy wrote:
Hmm... Fresh is supporting code completion?

Code completion is already implemented. First you have to compile source, so symbols will be gathered. Then you can press ctrl+space and list of words will appear. As you type some letters, list will be updated according to what you wrote. For example you can type just "WS_", then press control+space, and list will appear with all symbols that begin with "WS_". Only case when cc list does appear automatically is when you type name of some structure and then press dot. After that you will see list of available structure members.
Post 13 Feb 2006, 21:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY 13 Feb 2006, 22:07
Ok. I downloaded latest version and seems very good.
I could get code completion to work, but do I need to compile before using it? Doesn't make sense to me, have to use the API before having the completion.
I typed this code for testing:
Code:
include '%finc%\win32ax.inc'

main:

invoke MessageBox,0,0,0,0

ret

.end main
    

And the completion for MessageBox API worked after compiling the code. But, other APIs will not show at the completion list.
Am I doing something wrong?
Also, I'm planning to use Fresh as source editor and seems very good. But for curiosity, will it become some kind of RAD tool? Is there some tutorial available on the "framework" used? How to handle events of buttons for example?
Or it's just a resource editor built-in and I have to handle the messages with WINAPI?

Thanks!
Post 13 Feb 2006, 22:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 15 Feb 2006, 17:27
You have to compile your source first because Fresh has to "gather" all symbols declared there. It works this way because only then CC list will contain not only "standard" symbols but also your own. But I'm planning to make Fresh compile windows headers on startup, so at least API functions and constants will be available before first compilation. Soon this feature will be available Smile

Ozzy wrote:
And the completion for MessageBox API worked after compiling the code. But, other APIs will not show at the completion list.
Am I doing something wrong?

That's because recent changes in symbol gathering proc. I didn't realize that now list doesn't contain unused symbols. So CC lists only functions that are used in your code (but all windows constants are available). I will fix it in next version.

Quote:
But for curiosity, will it become some kind of RAD tool? Is there some tutorial available on the "framework" used? How to handle events of buttons for example?

Yes, this is in plans. Now you can create form and put some controls on it, edit their properties, etc. But using this form in an application is more difficult than in Delphi Wink. Actually, whole visual library has to be rewritten...

regards
Post 15 Feb 2006, 17:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 16 Feb 2006, 14:05
Here's a quick fix, after applying it all APIs will be available to code completion:
open imports32.inc file from include\macro\ directory, and then find line 42:
Code:
forward
    if used label
     if string eqtype ''
      label dd RVA _label
     else
      label dd 80000000h + string
     end if
    end if    


change it to:

Code:
forward
    if used label
     if string eqtype ''
      label dd RVA _label
     else
      label dd 80000000h + string
     end if
    else
      label = 0
    end if    
Post 16 Feb 2006, 14:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
OzzY



Joined: 19 Sep 2003
Posts: 1029
Location: Everywhere
OzzY 16 Feb 2006, 15:12
Thanks!
I'll try it!

EDIT:
Works great!! Please add it to the official distribution!
Now it shows all API's. But it's still missing tips for the parameters.
Keep up good work!
Post 16 Feb 2006, 15:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 16 Feb 2006, 15:54
OzzY wrote:
Works great!! Please add it to the official distribution!

Of course this fix will be present in next version Wink.

Quote:
Now it shows all API's. But it's still missing tips for the parameters.

This feature is planned Wink unfortunatelly I don't have time to do it right now, and I have to think carefully how should I implement it.

regards,
Mateusz
Post 16 Feb 2006, 15:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
viki



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Czestochowa, Poland
viki 01 Mar 2006, 14:22
On win98se it complitly hangs when I open a new file. Sorry but I can't say nothing more for now, but I try to debug it with ollys.
Post 01 Mar 2006, 14:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 01 Mar 2006, 20:52
Unfortunatelly right now I don't have an access to computer with w98, so it would be nice if you could provide at least address of crash... thanks in advance.
Actually my computer is "grounded" too for about two weeks Sad
Post 01 Mar 2006, 20:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
viki



Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 40
Location: Czestochowa, Poland
viki 03 Mar 2006, 09:14
decard can you help me to find and set breakpoint on onopen proc in actionevents? Sorry but I am not familiar with ollydbg.
Post 03 Mar 2006, 09:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 18 Mar 2006, 08:56
Hi,
Sorry but I missed your post before. Soon I will upload new release, and I will prepare version with breakpoint for you.
Post 18 Mar 2006, 08:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard 24 Mar 2006, 07:15
viki: here you have version with breakpoint:
Post 24 Mar 2006, 07:15
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.