flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > New DexOS release

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
A new test demo of DexOS is available to test, DexOS is a 32bit pmode, modern Dos, with a range of pmode ints, upto 4GB of memory, pmode drivers for floppy, CD, vesa + much more, its written in full fasm assembly.
You can get it as a winimage that put the os on a floppy, or as a ISO for burning on CD-rw
Available here: http://www.falconrybells.co.uk/

NOTE: If you have 2 hard drive, it will not pickup you CD drive up, a fix for this will be available in the next couple of days.

On booting just type "help" at the command prompt Smile .

PS: We also have a forum here: http://dex.7.forumer.com/

_________________
\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 26 Jan 2005, 05:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
jas20



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Australia
jas20
If you boot with the cd, I suggest you first type d: (or d:/ I forget).

This way your not in the floppy, if you don't have one inserted you will get a error.

Jas2o
Post 26 Jan 2005, 10:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
Its d:
Thats because the Cd on booting emulats a floppy Smile.

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 26 Jan 2005, 18:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bogdanontanu



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Sol. Earth. Europe. Romania. Bucuresti
bogdanontanu
Nice and small,

I am interested what program have you used to make the .ISO file Very Happy ... I need one for my OS Wink

BTW i get a **** its to busy when i try to dir the Drive D on my Virtual PC testing

Where are the sources for the OS?
Post 26 Jan 2005, 23:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
Hi bogdanontanu, I use winima70.exe http://www.winimage.com/download.htm
It works great, but after 30days you need to register it Crying or Very sad .

The code works fine on real PC's, but does not work in any emulators ????.
Its usually the floppy or the CD that is the problem, i do not know why, i do not use emulators, so can not find out why.

The asm code is not for release yet, because we have not released a first ver, these are just demos to test things and get feed back, we will release the code on releasing the first ver, but as we value your opinion, just join the forum and we will send you the asm source, and may be you can cast you eye over the code to see why it does not work in emulator's Smile .

DexOS forum is here: http://dex.7.forumer.com/

PS: Do you get a floppy not ready error from the A: drive ?.

_________________
\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 27 Jan 2005, 01:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bogdanontanu



Joined: 07 Jan 2004
Posts: 403
Location: Sol. Earth. Europe. Romania. Bucuresti
bogdanontanu
I just get an "... is too busy" when trying the DIR command on the D: drive

A DIR command on A: drive gives me: "ERROR! floppy not ready!."

It does boot in Virtual PC and it shows the a:>_ prompt plus the top logo
Commands work ok (at least "help" does)

I own a Virtual PC copy so i can easy test it in there Wink
Post 27 Jan 2005, 05:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
jas20



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Australia
jas20
Sometimes we have keyboard problems other times it's the pmode floppy trying to put the light on (or so I've been told).

Jas20
Post 27 Jan 2005, 06:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
jas20



Joined: 23 Sep 2004
Posts: 41
Location: Australia
jas20
Got it working in qemu!

It should be around the bottom of the page:
http://dex.7.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?t=28

You should get a win98sec.img from bootdisk.com

Jas2o
Post 27 Jan 2005, 08:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.