flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Setting vesa from pm.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Artlav



Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Moscow, Russia
Artlav
In general, the question is how to enable any vesa graphic mode from pm without using 16bit interrupts. Is it possible and how?
Post 08 Jan 2005, 16:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
joachim_neu



Joined: 22 Dec 2003
Posts: 139
joachim_neu
i thinks it's theoretical possible, but there are two things:
1. why change in PM, in RM its easier
2. i think noone writes a tutorial about something what isn't realy important, because you can do it also in RM
Post 08 Jan 2005, 16:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
Even the supped PM support, is in 16bit PM and i do not know any one who has got it working, i switch back to realmode from pm in my OS, it works fine.
here a link to some example code: http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=1854

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 08 Jan 2005, 16:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Artlav



Joined: 23 Dec 2004
Posts: 188
Location: Moscow, Russia
Artlav
The problem is that applications is not allowed to go to rm in my os...
Any options exept rm and vm86?
How is it done in Xwindows?
Post 08 Jan 2005, 17:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Switch back to RM, use vm86, or code a driver for each an every card Smile. VM86 is probably the best option.

Ashley, I thought the VESA PM interface was 32bit? :/
Post 08 Jan 2005, 17:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
f0dder, that what it is suppost to be (a 32bit PM interface), but to use it you need to switch to a 16PM.
Its a long time since, i try to code vesa from pmode in this way, so i may be wrong.

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 08 Jan 2005, 19:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Hm, I seem to recall something about "get protected mode interface" which would give you a pointer and amount of bytes to copy... but I might be wrong and it might be a 16bit PM interface and it was only for bank switching iirc and it probably requires ring0 and... etc Smile
Post 08 Jan 2005, 20:02
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Ok, I had a look at the VBE2 specs. You have to get some info from RM, set up descriptors and proper memory and port access. However, the only functions supported are:
Quote:

Function 5 for Set Window Call
Function 7 for set Display Start
Function 9 for set Primary Palette data

...which IMHO makes the pmode interface pretty useless. So RM switch or V86 it is Smile
Post 08 Jan 2005, 20:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
Your right f0dder Smile, i came to the same conclusion, switch back and forth works great for me, for mode switching.
But would not use it for floppy access etc though.

PS: I have a vesa mode switching from pmode demo, if any ones interested, if i can get it on the site, keep getting a error on uploading Crying or Very sad.

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.

Batteries not included, Some assembly required.
Post 08 Jan 2005, 21:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Switching back to RM works for a lot of situations. I'll rather head for the V86 model - I'm not going to add graphics support until my kernel is (a lot) more mature than it is now, and graphics support isn't that high on my wishlist anyway. And furthermore, V86 could turn out to be useful + fun + fustrating Smile
Post 08 Jan 2005, 22:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.