flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > PCI video card register access?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
cylo



Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 20
cylo 07 Nov 2004, 16:46
Hello!

I need to read from and write into my grafic card registers. I have the datasheet of this chip but i did not realy figure out how to access all that.

Table 4-9: Function :4 pci header registers for video controller summary
------------------------------------------------------------
F4 Index - Width(Bits) - Name
------------------------------------------------------------
00h-01h - 16 - Vendor Id
...
10h-13h - 32 - Base Adress Register (F4BAR)
...

Table 4-10: F4BAR: Video Controller Configuration Register Summary
------------------------------------------------------------
F4BAR+Memory Offset - Width(Bits) - Name
------------------------------------------------------------
00h-03h - 32 - Video Configuration Register
...


"... f4bar must be accessed using dword operation... when writing in one of this 32bit registers, all four bytes must be written."
Post 07 Nov 2004, 16:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Chewy509



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 297
Location: Bris-vegas, Australia
Chewy509 07 Nov 2004, 22:53
What are you wanting to do? Access the basic VGA (aka 6845) controller, or do program the accelerator on the chip?

For the basic VGA stuff, you can still use the legacy ports 3b4h, 3c4h and 3d4h. (3b4 = mono, 3c4 = generic, 3d4 = colour).
Post 07 Nov 2004, 22:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
cylo



Joined: 06 Nov 2004
Posts: 20
cylo 08 Nov 2004, 06:24
i need to change the screen refresh rate in svga.
Post 08 Nov 2004, 06:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Chewy509



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 297
Location: Bris-vegas, Australia
Chewy509 08 Nov 2004, 23:09
Have you looked at the VESA specs? (www.vesa.org). I'm pretty sure VESA includes functions for this...

PS. To change the refresh, rate requires calculating all the sync rates for the RAMDAC. (You'll end up basically programming the graphics mode by hand). Does the documentation you have, include all this info?
Post 08 Nov 2004, 23:09
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.