flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Directory routines for function 58

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ATV



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Location: Finland
ATV
profkid13, I try Menuet with my old Quantum 170 MB disk (borrowed form really old 486), and it didn't read at all. Maybe io via ports need some changes, i don't know.
Post 08 Dec 2004, 06:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
VIA chipsets tend to be slow - I think that some delays might
do the trick, but I can't be sure, because I don't know the exact
error you had on that drive.

P.S. and sonny...please edit the picture to some 800x600 or
lower, because even I (1024x768) had to scroll this sideways.
Thank you.
Post 08 Dec 2004, 09:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
profkid13



Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 111
profkid13
Madis731 wrote:
VIA chipsets tend to be slow - I think that some delays might
do the trick, but I can't be sure, because I don't know the exact
error you had on that drive.


i used other harddisks before in menuetos on this pc...
Post 08 Dec 2004, 13:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
Sorry Embarassed , will do
Post 08 Dec 2004, 13:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pavlushin Evgeni



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Russia Moscow
Pavlushin Evgeni
Asko Vuori, deleted bug in XTREE
now we can input to directory with extension (for example TEST.TMP) Wink

download from
www.cyberdeck.fatal.ru/XTREE.rar
www.deck4.narod.ru/XTREE.rar
or here


Description:
Download
Filename: XTREE.rar
Filesize: 42.41 KB
Downloaded: 256 Time(s)


_________________
(Russia) Colledge:MPC Age:16
Post 08 Dec 2004, 14:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Madis731



Joined: 25 Sep 2003
Posts: 2140
Location: Estonia
Madis731
Post 08 Dec 2004, 16:19
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
This works for me with some limitations:
I can access and copy to and from dirs such as
"C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.REACTOS\Desktop"
Great? Laughing
I can also create dirs such as
"C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator.REACTOS\test" and
"C:\test.tes" (tried to create "C:\test.test" but it is limited to 3 characters after the ".")
To sum it up:
I now have full read and write access to any and all directories on c drive (not sure about directory depth? will test this today)
Post 09 Dec 2004, 14:04
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
Just noticed the icon in this package doesn't "load"

Sad
Post 09 Dec 2004, 17:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pavlushin Evgeni



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Russia Moscow
Pavlushin Evgeni
i'm add all files for compilation to XTREE.rar
www.cyberdeck.fatal.ru/XTREE.rar
www.deck4.narod.ru/XTREE.rar
Post 12 Dec 2004, 08:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
Still doesn't "load"


Description:
Filesize: 1.68 KB
Viewed: 6708 Time(s)

xtree icon.jpg


Post 12 Dec 2004, 14:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DC740



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Argentina
DC740
just a question... scandisk and windows didn't read my hd anymore, but i can't remember if i used menuet before de "incident"... could the fat bug ruin my fat system?? i didn't format cause i wanted to keep my files (it didn't boot, it started to work and when windows started to boot it never finished, it keep writting to hd and it was an infinite loop, but i could copy all my doc to another hd) so i don't know if the disk is or is not damaged... now i have an hd with nt file system so i didn't try again, but i want to know if the "broken" hd can be used again with a simple format...
Post 12 Dec 2004, 16:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
Quote:
could the fat bug ruin my fat system

This is possible but not sure what you mean
Quote:
it keep writting to hd and it was an infinite loop

Windows? MeOS does not write to HD or format drives
Quote:
i want to know if the "broken" hd can be used again with a simple format

Likely, if format "sees" the drive. Have you recovered your data
Quote:
i didn't format cause i wanted to keep my files

If so you could try it (formatting) and see, you may have to create a new partition using fdisk aswell. Good luck and let me know if you solve this.
Post 12 Dec 2004, 16:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DC740



Joined: 01 Oct 2004
Posts: 74
Location: Argentina
DC740
like you said... yes, windows keep writting in the hd, sry if i didn't explain it fine (my english is very poor)... and yes, i recovered the data, it seems like the damaged sector is written only by the windows files, i'll format the hd in a few days, i'm going to restore an old cpu and i'll let you know the results... thanx!!!

bye
Post 12 Dec 2004, 17:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ATV



Joined: 31 Aug 2004
Posts: 109
Location: Finland
ATV
DC740, It is possible that MeOS has overwritten some important Windows file, if you have used my old version of fat32. It first mark cluster as free and next time it can use it. Then Windows file may have MeOS written code inside. MeOS can't broke hd, only fat/data can be overwritten. I am verry sorry about previous bugs.

About old ATA-1 disks below 500MB. Do we need support them, they need CHS for read/write?
Post 13 Dec 2004, 06:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Pavlushin Evgeni



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Russia Moscow
Pavlushin Evgeni
sonny73044 wrote:
Still doesn't "load"

Sorry i don't know how convert this icon to MEOS supporting format Sad
If you can please convert them, and send to waptap[at]mail.ru

_________________
(Russia) Colledge:MPC Age:16
Post 13 Dec 2004, 10:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
I don't know how to convert to ico, but it works using Irfanview http://www.irfanview.com/ and converting to bmp. Is this ok?
Sorry about the dark background.


Description:
Filesize: 1.16 KB
Viewed: 6831 Time(s)

XTREE.jpg


Post 13 Dec 2004, 13:53
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pavlushin Evgeni



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Russia Moscow
Pavlushin Evgeni
I'm think MEOS using ico format for desktop Confused ok i'm convert this file at near time.

_________________
(Russia) Colledge:MPC Age:16
Post 13 Dec 2004, 16:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
I'm sure you would be right and that someone else may be able to help converting to ico. I just posted above cause it does work, MeOS seems to support using bmp as icons. Look at chessi.bmp (they display correctly)

note: the black background seems to be set to "transparent"


Description:
Filesize: 8.72 KB
Viewed: 6814 Time(s)

SCREEN.jpg


Post 13 Dec 2004, 16:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sonny73044



Joined: 08 Dec 2004
Posts: 28
Location: Oklahoma,USA
sonny73044
Sorry, wrong example it should say "write.bmp"
A default desktop icon.
Post 13 Dec 2004, 16:52
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Pavlushin Evgeni



Joined: 09 Jun 2004
Posts: 30
Location: Russia Moscow
Pavlushin Evgeni
X-TREE package with worked icon Confused


Description:
Download
Filename: XTREE.rar
Filesize: 42.09 KB
Downloaded: 220 Time(s)


_________________
(Russia) Colledge:MPC Age:16
Post 14 Dec 2004, 14:33
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.