flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > flat assembler 1.56

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7724
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Now available in the Download section.

This is mainly the cleanup release (read more here). Also a more detailed note about "eqtype" operator has been added to documentation - it was the last important feature that has not yet been documented enough.

Since now all further development goes into direction of version capable of generating AMD64 long mode code - in future releases X86.INC is going to be replaced with new file, containing the long mode support.


Last edited by Tomasz Grysztar on 19 Jan 2005, 09:31; edited 1 time in total
Post 27 Sep 2004, 12:47
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
quiveror



Joined: 20 Jun 2003
Posts: 34
quiveror
?Hi Privalov,
In file win32ax.inc (and also win32wx.inc), the macro "allow_nesting" contains :-

purge _invoke %_ }

I think it has to be :-

purge invoke %_ }

hasn't it?

cheers,
Q
Post 27 Sep 2004, 16:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7724
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
You're right, thanks.
Post 27 Sep 2004, 17:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tyler Durden



Joined: 24 Feb 2004
Posts: 50
Tyler Durden
Is there any "whatsnew's" in the 0.92.3 ide's version ?

_________________
Image
Post 07 Oct 2004, 21:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
IceStudent



Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Ukraine
IceStudent
Hello.

I wrote this code:
Code:
format ELF

section '.text' executable

     public _start
       _start:
 nop
    


and trying to compile with the FASM v1.56, but occurs such error:
Quote:

public _start
error: undefined symbol.


But FASM v1.55 successfull compile this code.

What I made wrong?
Or it's new feature, which are not well documented at the FASM help?

Besr regards,
IceStudent
Post 06 Nov 2004, 12:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7724
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Works for me.
Post 06 Nov 2004, 12:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
IceStudent



Joined: 19 Dec 2003
Posts: 60
Location: Ukraine
IceStudent
Privalov wrote:
Works for me.

Yes, you right.

All versions of compiler, which I have (1.50..1.56), compile such code.
But builds with the listing support are can not compile it.

First of all, at v1.56 changed size of variable org_origin: dq,
so I must change the code at listing.inc:
Code:
 mov     dword [adjustment],eax
      mov     dword [adjustment+4],eax
    mov     dword[org_origin],edi         ; <-- changed 
     mov     dword[org_origin+4],eax    ; <--
    


I think, it's correct..

Then I observed, that problem is here:
Code:
    cmp     [listing_file],0
    je      no_line_pointers_needed
         ....
      no_line_pointers_needed:
;     dec     [current_pass]                ; <-- you must comment this line
   ret
    


If I comment this line, FASM successfully compile all examples of the Linux version (and even FASM source): with the listing option or no.

Of course, may be I made mistake, so tell me about it.

Best regards,
IceStudent
Post 07 Nov 2004, 06:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7724
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Yeah, the listing feature has not been adapted to the latest changes of internals yet.

Another small update has been made today, with a small fix made as a side-effect during writing the internals documentation. In the mean time I have also updated the 64-bit division algorithm used by expression evaluator, as it happened to be terribly slow in some cases of dividing two very large values.

The today's fix can be the most simply described on a small example:
Code:
a equ b
b equ 1
a: mov eax,a    

The bug that existed in preprocessor caused the "a" label to be preprocessed twice, so the whole line was becoming "1: mov eax,b" (and causing an error), while it should be "b: mov eax,b", as it is done by the updated 1.56.
Post 08 Nov 2004, 13:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9
what's new in today's 1.56? ;)

--
Hi, Admin
Post 24 Nov 2004, 21:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
Hi, Privalov!

Just another suggestion from me (maybe not so useless for anyone but me). Are you planning to extend string operations functionality so we could write e.g. such piece of code:
Code:
macro display_a_to_b _str {
  local ..str
  ..str = ''
  repeat length(_str)
    if _str[%] = 'a'
      ..str = ..str + 'b'
    else
      ..str = ..str + _str[%]
    end if
  end repeat
  display ..str,13,10
}    

With this little extension we could even make something like PRINTF macro. What do you think?
Post 29 Dec 2004, 00:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
mike: how should it beheave if _str isn't string?
Post 29 Dec 2004, 14:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
I've forgotten to check that (you know of course what EQTYPE does).
Post 29 Dec 2004, 17:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
yes, but anyway, what should it do if used on non-string?
Post 29 Dec 2004, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar
Assembly Artist


Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7724
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
It's usually done this way:
Code:
macro display_a_to_b _str {
  local ..str
  ..str = ''
  virtual at 0
    db _str
    repeat $
      load a byte from %-1
      if a = 'a'
        display 'b'
      else
        display a
      end if
    end repeat
  end virtual
  display 13,10
}    
Post 29 Dec 2004, 17:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
OK, Privalov, you are the great (I think you know that) Wink
Post 31 Dec 2004, 08:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.