flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > loading a floating point number directly

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt 17 Sep 2004, 09:04
would it be possible to add this feature to fasm?
Code:
fld dword [1.0]    

where the data would be defined in the data section of a windows program.
Post 17 Sep 2004, 09:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1166
Location: Overflow
Matrix 17 Sep 2004, 09:17
madmatt wrote:
would it be possible to add this feature to fasm?
Code:
fld dword [1.0]    

where the data would be defined in the data section of a windows program.


this is kind of weird,
you have a variable pointer named "1.0" ? Smile

but yes, i think it is possible to store for example 80 bits in a variable and then load it.

MATRIX
Post 17 Sep 2004, 09:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1166
Location: Overflow
Matrix 17 Sep 2004, 09:30
but if you were thinking of loading 1.0 in to fpu regs, you should take a look at the fpu instructions, fpu knows 1 as a constant, it also knows pi, 0 and some more ( constants can be loaded with 1 instruction )

MATRIX
Post 17 Sep 2004, 09:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.