flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Linux > Fasm fails to assemble

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
jwymanm



Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Indiana
jwymanm 06 Sep 2004, 13:49
I have tried to assemble Fasm 1.55 using the Linux version of Fasm, but it fails with an out of memory error. I can use WINE to run the Win32 console version to assemble Linux and other versions of Fasm. I'm assuming it's running out of memory trying to assemble x86.inc - I tried giving it more with the -m argument but that didn't work. I'm using version 2.6.8.1 of the Linux kernel.
Post 06 Sep 2004, 13:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
jwymanm



Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Indiana
jwymanm 06 Sep 2004, 14:51
I've traced the jump to out_of_memory to line 91 in preproce.inc
Post 06 Sep 2004, 14:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8359
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 06 Sep 2004, 15:08
Here's the variant of fasm for Linux that will display how much of memory was it able to allocate. Please try it, also with different "-m" parameter settings, and tell what values it displayed.


Description:
Download
Filename: fasm.zip
Filesize: 37.7 KB
Downloaded: 731 Time(s)

Post 06 Sep 2004, 15:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
jwymanm



Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Indiana
jwymanm 06 Sep 2004, 15:26
./fasm fasm.asm f
flat assembler version 1.55
allocated 666933 bytes for main memory block.
error: out of memory.


It seems to give different values for amount allocated every time I run it. larger -m values will give random results, but it doesn't seem to want to allocate more than ~ 666KB.
Post 06 Sep 2004, 15:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
jwymanm



Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 4
Location: Indiana
jwymanm 06 Sep 2004, 17:13
Interesting, I've assembled it fine on another machine with the same exact kernel/linux distribution. The only difference being hardware. I've got an AMD Athlon XP 1700+ w/1gb ram and the other machine is a 2ghz Celeron w/256mb ram. I don't have any other problems running software.. and I put this machine through some heavy usage. I'll test it under vmware. Got to love x86 hardware Wink
Post 06 Sep 2004, 17:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Dragontamer



Joined: 24 Aug 2003
Posts: 84
Dragontamer 06 Sep 2004, 21:30
I just finished assembling too. Works fine. 2ghz Celeron with 512 ram. Using 2.6.6-1 kernel though.
Post 06 Sep 2004, 21:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.