flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Error with mov qword [r8],'interfac'

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1088
Roman
Code:
mov  r8,TxtOut
mov  qword [r8],'interfac'

    


Fasm get errro value out of range.

If not write qword fasm get error size not specifed.
Post 27 Nov 2020, 11:35
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1088
Roman
Code:
mov  r8,TxtOut
mov  rax,'interfac'
mov  qword [r8],rax 
    

This compiled ok
Post 27 Nov 2020, 11:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MaoKo



Joined: 07 May 2019
Posts: 99
Location: Paris/French
MaoKo
You cannot directly move height byte from immediate to memory.
Post 27 Nov 2020, 13:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 18466
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Yes. What MaoKo says is correct. It is a CPU restriction. Only MOV can be used for immediate constants greater than 32-bits.
Post 27 Nov 2020, 13:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.