flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > DOS > Seagate st225 installation guide

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
connor



Joined: 07 Jun 2016
Posts: 79
connor
I just got a seagate st 225

and im having trouble.

when my ibm pc boots up it detects two drives

when i only have one

When i try to make a partition with fdisk it says it cannot use drive 1

changing the jumpers dosn't do anything.

what the hell is going on?

_________________
cars tech weed bitches country & thug life
Post 29 Oct 2020, 22:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 3206
Location: vpcmipstrm
bitRAKE
https://stason.org/TULARC/pc/hard-drives-hdd/seagate/ST225-21MB-5-25-HH-MFM-ST412.html

Shows the jumper settings (and lots of info):
15-16 for drive 1.

Bad ribbon cable/controller?

_________________
¯\(°_o)/¯ unlicense.org
Post 30 Oct 2020, 01:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
connor



Joined: 07 Jun 2016
Posts: 79
connor
you mean the website i looked at, before i posted this thread?

And no its not the ribbon cables either, i just checked.

im stumped

_________________
cars tech weed bitches country & thug life
Post 30 Oct 2020, 06:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bitRAKE



Joined: 21 Jul 2003
Posts: 3206
Location: vpcmipstrm
bitRAKE
Haven't used an MFM drive since the late 80's. Did they have the twisted part of the ribbon cable or were that later drives? Have you tried another utility on the drive? Like Spin-Rite? Something that massages the controller directly. There are lots of other low-level tools - I just don't remember their name, atm.

http://www.lanet.lv/simtel.net/msdos/diskutil-pre.html

_________________
¯\(°_o)/¯ unlicense.org
Post 30 Oct 2020, 08:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
connor



Joined: 07 Jun 2016
Posts: 79
connor
NAH its all good it turns out i needed to do a low level format with debug

the pins and the jumpers where correct.

Oh by the way, SPINRITE wont work on anything that doesn't have a CGA graphics card, bare minimum.

I've actually tried this.
Post 17 Nov 2020, 05:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.