flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > [fixed] FASMW bug report

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
KostX



Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 41
KostX
Hi Tomasz Grysztar. I'm working on a project that is not single executable, it is separated into DLLs and EXE. Thus, when I'm opening multiple source files from Windows command line I can edit and save them normally. Buy, when I try to compile them, FASM says me: "Error: source file not found". Then, if I try to save source file, fasm suggests me to save it as (via save file dialog), although FASM already knows its location.

You can repeat my actions following next steps:

1. Create or get some test FASM souce codes (for exemple YourSource.asm, YourSource.inc, YourDefinitions.inc).
2. Create text file and write to it next line
Code:
start %fasmpath%\fasmw.exe .\YourSource.asm .\YourSource.inc .\YourDefinitions.inc
    

Save this file as windows command line (*.cmd or *.bat) file.

3. Run it. This action will open FASM editor with "YourSource.asm", "YourSource.inc" and "YourDefinitions.inc" tabs. You can modify then and even save.
4. Now go to main tab (here is "YourSource.asm"). and try to compile sources. And then try to save sources.


Respects.
Post 17 May 2020, 13:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Thank you for the report, but I was unable to reproduce it on my machine with the steps you provided, even when I tried to repeat everything faithfully, including all names and environment variable.
What version of Windows are you using?
Does it depend on the path to the working directory where you're doing it?
Perhaps there are some special characters in the path that are triggering the bug?
Post 17 May 2020, 13:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
KostX



Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 41
KostX
OS: Window 10, I have no special characters, even spaces in path. That was my fault, the method described by my in post above was simplified and it really works correctly. But, i decided when my trouble appears: You need to put source file into at least one-level subdirectory (for exemple "Src") and call cmd file modified as next:
Quote:
start %fasmpath%\fasmw.exe .\Src\YourSource.asm .\Src\YourSource.inc .\Src\YourDefinitions.inc
I've just tested it. It really causes errors I described in post above.


Description: files located in C:\users\Admin\Desktop\
%fasmpath% = C:\FASM\

Download
Filename: Desktop.zip
Filesize: 956 Bytes
Downloaded: 67 Time(s)

Post 17 May 2020, 14:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Thank you, now I know what happened. I have updated the 1.73.24 package with the new IDE interface version 0.99.06 - please try it.
Post 17 May 2020, 16:13
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
KostX



Joined: 19 Sep 2012
Posts: 41
KostX
I've tried. It works fine. Thank you so much Very Happy
Post 17 May 2020, 19:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.