flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Compiler Internals > rb does not work

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
lbl



Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Location: Poland
lbl 31 Mar 2018, 13:55
I wanted to reserve 100 bytes and when I compile this code:
Code:
rb 100    

Fasm shows:

flat assembler version 1.71.64 (16384 kilobytes memory)
1 passes, 0 bytes.


and this file was empty.

When I write:
Code:
times 100 db 0    

Fasm shows:

flat assembler version 1.71.64 (16384 kilobytes memory)
1 passes, 100 bytes.


Is it a bug?
Post 31 Mar 2018, 13:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
CandyMan



Joined: 04 Sep 2009
Posts: 413
Location: film "CandyMan" directed through Bernard Rose OR Candy Shop
CandyMan 31 Mar 2018, 16:14
rb is indicating reserve bytes the memory (will be undefined) but don't fill the memory up
try:
Code:
rb 100
db 0    

or
Code:
db 100 dup 0    

_________________
smaller is better
Post 31 Mar 2018, 16:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
lbl



Joined: 31 Mar 2018
Posts: 2
Location: Poland
lbl 31 Mar 2018, 17:17
Thanks, I didn't know that Smile
Post 31 Mar 2018, 17:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.