flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > Can't run the application. Access denied

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
The_Unknown_Member



Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 17
The_Unknown_Member 24 Sep 2017, 13:45
Okay. I haven't touched my PC for 4-5 days till today. The last time I was using FASM was 4- 5 days ago and everything worked fine then but now today I tried to assemble an ASM file and I am getting output "This application can't run on your PC" and output in the console "Access Denied". The same program that was running perfectly fine 4-5 days before now can't run (I am beginner at the Assembly lang and FASM so for now I am making simple applications). As I said I haven't touched the PC for 4-5 days. I also disabled the AV software but still the same.

The OS that I am using is Windows 8.1 Core x64 bit (with disabled updates have never updated it)
Post 24 Sep 2017, 13:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Furs



Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 2543
Furs 24 Sep 2017, 19:36
You know, more information and the exact FASM program you want to run would help.

But if you didn't touch it then it has nothing to do with FASM, probably a hiccup in the OS (did you open the file in another application? restart your PC and see what happens if you try to run it again?) or you have malware or whatever.
Post 24 Sep 2017, 19:36
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DimonSoft



Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 1228
Location: Belarus
DimonSoft 25 Sep 2017, 11:25
Furs wrote:
or you have malware or whatever.

Or antimalware/antivirus, since those are also the programs that sometimes make strange things happen.
Post 25 Sep 2017, 11:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Picnic



Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 1396
Location: Piraeus, Greece
Picnic 25 Sep 2017, 11:40
Add "Turn off Windows defender" to above tips.
Post 25 Sep 2017, 11:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
The_Unknown_Member



Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 17
The_Unknown_Member 26 Sep 2017, 10:38
I have uninstalled the Anti-Virus software (Avast). Windows Defender and Windows SmartScreen are disabled and I am using the administrator account and still getting this: [img] https://i.gyazo.com/f75128d2f0a638e3872731078935c720.png [/img]
Post 26 Sep 2017, 10:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
sinsi



Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 794
Location: Adelaide
sinsi 26 Sep 2017, 10:43
Looks like ASM_01.exe is 16-bit, 64-bit Windows can't run old DOS programs now.
Post 26 Sep 2017, 10:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Furs



Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 2543
Furs 26 Sep 2017, 14:08
And how did it run 4-5 days ago then? Oh people omitting important information again.
Post 26 Sep 2017, 14:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
The_Unknown_Member



Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 17
The_Unknown_Member 26 Sep 2017, 17:49
I wrote "format PE console" and "use32" at the top of my code. Doesn't "use32" mean to use the x86_32 arhitecture ?
Post 26 Sep 2017, 17:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DimonSoft



Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 1228
Location: Belarus
DimonSoft 26 Sep 2017, 19:55
I guess, the reason is in the 17th line of your code. Just check it carefully.
Post 26 Sep 2017, 19:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Furs



Joined: 04 Mar 2016
Posts: 2543
Furs 27 Sep 2017, 10:41
The_Unknown_Member wrote:
I wrote "format PE console" and "use32" at the top of my code. Doesn't "use32" mean to use the x86_32 arhitecture ?
use32 makes it encode instructions in 32-bit mode. Nothing to do with format.

However, did you really write "format PE console"? Can you show the code?
Post 27 Sep 2017, 10:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
The_Unknown_Member



Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 17
The_Unknown_Member 27 Sep 2017, 12:25
Furs wrote:
The_Unknown_Member wrote:
I wrote "format PE console" and "use32" at the top of my code. Doesn't "use32" mean to use the x86_32 arhitecture ?
use32 makes it encode instructions in 32-bit mode. Nothing to do with format.

However, did you really write "format PE console"? Can you show the code?


The code doesn't matter. Nothing runs. I wrote a simple program, tested and still the same
Code:
format PE console
use32   ; x86_32 
entry start  
include 'win32a.inc' 

 
; This is the data section: 
; ======================================================= 
section '.data' data readable writeable  

; ======================================================= 
section '.text' code readable executable  

start: 
        mov eax, 10d
    
Post 27 Sep 2017, 12:25
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20416
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 27 Sep 2017, 13:29
Empty sections are not supported by the Windows loader. I suspect this will be the cause of your troubles. You either need to define at least one byte in each section, or remove empty sections.
Post 27 Sep 2017, 13:29
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
The_Unknown_Member



Joined: 28 Aug 2017
Posts: 17
The_Unknown_Member 28 Sep 2017, 13:37
revolution wrote:
Empty sections are not supported by the Windows loader. I suspect this will be the cause of your troubles. You either need to define at least one byte in each section, or remove empty sections.

Thank you very much! The problem is solved.
Post 28 Sep 2017, 13:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.