flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Fresh IDE v2.5.1 has been released.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 20 Dec 2016, 06:24
Minor release that has only few changes:

1. The dependency on Google for the web searches has been resolved. Now the web search engine can be changed by the user and DuckDuckGo is set by default.

2. FASM compiler has been updated to v1.71.58

3. Some bugs has been fixed.

Download as usually on the Fresh IDE download page.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 20 Dec 2016, 06:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 22 Dec 2016, 20:03
Thank you!
Post 22 Dec 2016, 20:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 04 Jun 2017, 17:09
Found a "bug" (or, at least, a not-so-good feature):
On Windows 10, I have a menu item "Open Linux terminal" which, of course, only spits a half-cryptic error message:

Code:
---------------------------
Fehler
---------------------------
andLinux not supported in this version. Sorry.Filenames as "include" statement
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------    


Why not just open a cmd window instead?
Post 04 Jun 2017, 17:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20446
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 04 Jun 2017, 17:12
Or if the menu item cannot function then have it greyed out.
Post 04 Jun 2017, 17:12
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 04 Jun 2017, 20:14
jazz wrote:
Found a "bug" (or, at least, a not-so-good feature):
On Windows 10, I have a menu item "Open Linux terminal" which, of course, only spits a half-cryptic error message:

Code:
---------------------------
Fehler
---------------------------
andLinux not supported in this version. Sorry.Filenames as "include" statement
---------------------------
OK   
---------------------------    


Why not just open a cmd window instead?



This is two-in-one: A bug and a planned, but not implemented feature. Here is the part of the code, responsible for this behavior. Notice the missing terminating zero in the string and the comment above the MessageBoxW call:
Code:
File: ActionEvents.asm:1865
iglobal
  cErrorAndLinux du "andLinux not supported in this version. Sorry."
endg

proc OnOpenTerminal, .wparam, .lparam
.term dd ?
.sinfo STARTUPINFO
.pinfo  PROCESSINFO
begin
        cmp     [procLinuxPath], 0
        jne     .linux

; here, must be the code for starting terminal in andLinux. But I can't test it, so better to not write buggy source.

        invoke  MessageBoxW, [hMainForm], cErrorAndLinux, NULL, MB_OK or MB_ICONERROR
        jmp     .error

.linux:    


The plan was even in Windows to open Linux terminal, by using andLinux. But as long as I am not using Windows recently, this feature is still not fully implemented.

In addition, andLinux is not developed anymore and coLinux is only 32bit, but MS introduces native Linux support in Windows. So, the whole Fresh IDE support of Linux development in Windows probably will be totally changed.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 04 Jun 2017, 20:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 04 Jun 2017, 20:24
revolution wrote:
Or if the menu item cannot function then have it greyed out.


BTW, this approach is pretty controversial. Grayed menu item only show that this feature can't function, but does not explain why. If the case is simple and known (for example not selected text - grayed "Copy" function) everything is fine. But in this very case (and similar) graying out the menu item will mislead the user. He will think that the feature is grayed out because he is working in Windows. But actually, Fresh IDE can start Linux applications in Windows, only this very feature is not properly implemented. For example, Fresh IDE (if properly configured) will open Linux terminal on Windows, when running developed application (by Shift+F9). That is why I think that showing message box with explanation is better solution here and in all similar cases.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 04 Jun 2017, 20:24
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 20446
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution 04 Jun 2017, 20:35
I have always thought of greyed menu items as: Works but not right now in this state. Explaining why should be part of the documentation. An active menu item that does nothing wastes the users time by making them think the item does something now when in fact it doesn't.

If someone were to put a permanently active or grey item in the menu that never works in any circumstance then that person should be "re-educated". Razz
Post 04 Jun 2017, 20:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 04 Jun 2017, 20:46
revolution wrote:
I have always thought of greyed menu items as: Works but not right now in this state.


Me too. And very often the question is "How to make this function work right now, because I need it.". And I don't think RTFM is the proper answer of this question. The user interface must be self-sufficient and intuitive. So, in complex cases, some message or brief explanation what is not enough is much better than inactive menu item.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 04 Jun 2017, 20:46
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 04 Jun 2017, 21:30
Do you really need a Linux terminal on Windows? I mean, I'm on Windows 10 and I still never needed one here. There is always cmd.
Post 04 Jun 2017, 21:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 04 Jun 2017, 21:32
jazz wrote:
Do you really need a Linux terminal on Windows? I mean, I'm on Windows 10 and I still never needed one here. There is always cmd.


Yes you need, if you are developing some Linux (or portable) program and want to test it in Linux.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 04 Jun 2017, 21:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 04 Jun 2017, 21:45
Ah, I see. I thought this was about just testing your application on the OS you are already on... sorry.
Post 04 Jun 2017, 21:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 04 Jun 2017, 21:51
jazz wrote:
Ah, I see. I thought this was about just testing your application on the OS you are already on... sorry.


Probably there should be second feature - "Open Windows CMD" or similar. Will try to make it for the next release. And maybe will remove andLinux and replace it with the more native "Windows Subsystem for Linux". Well, if I am able to find Windows 10 computer for testing.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 04 Jun 2017, 21:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 15 Jun 2017, 13:41
Hmm... new bug: Running Fresh 2.5.1 on Windows 10 x64 (on a different machine) instantly crashes when trying to save files in ~\Desktop\myFolder. Even with admin rights. Sad
Post 15 Jun 2017, 13:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 19 Jun 2017, 12:58
jazz wrote:
Hmm... new bug: Running Fresh 2.5.1 on Windows 10 x64 (on a different machine) instantly crashes when trying to save files in ~\Desktop\myFolder. Even with admin rights. Sad


Can you try to provide some call stack of the crash?

I already have Win10 computer and very soon will make some extended tests, bug fixes and probably an attempt to use the WSSL for running the Linux applications.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 19 Jun 2017, 12:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
jazz



Joined: 16 Jul 2016
Posts: 61
jazz 19 Jun 2017, 14:05
How can I obtain that call stack?
Post 19 Jun 2017, 14:05
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Azagaros



Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Azagaros 13 Jul 2017, 16:05
Fasm or fasmg does not have have debug, like DWARF 4/5 errata, info in it or it's generated files. If it did you might see debuggers appear for it. Coff/a.out debugging might take place in dos debuggers or windows higher level programming systems. The compilers do not track source positions much more than simple iterations of text buffers...
Post 13 Jul 2017, 16:05
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8359
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 13 Jul 2017, 17:08
Azagaros wrote:
Fasm or fasmg does not have have debug, like DWARF 4/5 errata, info in it or it's generated files. If it did you might see debuggers appear for it.
This is not true, fasm 1 has its own symbolic/debug information format (because formats like DWARF are not a good fit for the kind of information that fasm provides). As for fasmg, this is just as true as saying that fasmg does not support any output formats, as this is all a matter of writing appropriate macros.
Post 13 Jul 2017, 17:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Azagaros



Joined: 18 Jan 2013
Posts: 26
Azagaros 13 Jul 2017, 17:28
Are you going to have a macro repository somewhere? These become like library files that one has to include on every program, like old borland pascal. I am not sure what all macros are currently available it, since they are beyond the fasmg compiler. I only see your example macros so far in the source inclusion. It is just food for thought.
Post 13 Jul 2017, 17:28
View user's profile Send private message ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 8359
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar 13 Jul 2017, 19:27
So far there has been little interest concerning a central repository when I suggested it a couple of times. I maintain a list of links to projects I'm aware of, but that's all: https://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=19389
Post 13 Jul 2017, 19:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 23 Aug 2017, 20:34
jazz wrote:
How can I obtain that call stack?


Sorry for the very late answer! Embarassed
I was really busy on my work, writing programs for several industrial machines (in Step7) and huge data collecting project (in assembly). The projects are almost finished, so I hope will have more time for Fresh and FreshLib now.

This way, I am still not seriously tested Fresh IDE in Win10. But running it once or twice didn't reveal any crashes.

The call stack can be obtained by running Fresh IDE in some debugger and then saving the call trace.

For example in OllyDbg:

0. Open Fresh.exe in OllyDbg and run it.
1. After the crash, in the debugger select: "View|Call stack" (Alt+K)
2. Click the right mouse button and select: "Copy to clipboard|Whole table" and then paste the text wherever you want.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 23 Aug 2017, 20:34
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2025, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.