flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Help please...

Goto page Previous  1, 2
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
amiflat



Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Italy
amiflat
i'm sorry to boring you.
if you want to exchange material related to asm programming just ask me.

best regards
Smile
Post 13 Aug 2004, 09:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
You just want to learn, that is GOOD! and thanks for the offer.

\\\\|////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 13 Aug 2004, 12:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
Hello everyone
if you wanna put a pixel to screen very fast, i think you shouldn't use memory variables for color, register operations are much faster, for example i optimize my code while i can and don't use push and pop while i have free registers to play with.
however you should specify your putpixel to write in your memory buffer when using $a000, cause it is much faster to flip your entire screen back buffer to screen than writing pixels to screen ( like 1 bytes per putpixel vs. 4 bytes per write loop), if you use memory instead of $a000 mapped video port, you will mostly have an improvement like from 5 Mpixel / sec to 80Mpixel / sec
it depends on how many putpixels are doing, how fast is your memory / ram, what os do you have ...
when you flip your buffer you can use rep stosd for example, or if you want it to run well on pentium and above, you can use FPU to flip the buffer to memory. You can also wait for a vertical retrace before flipping your buffer to video ram.

MATRIX
Post 13 Sep 2004, 09:37
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
ASHLEY4 wrote:
This code has not been test.
Code:
   mov     al,[es:di]
    


hy ASHLEY4
i have a question to you,
is it faster on your machine to do the above operation on your machine than using

Code:
mov ds:segment
mov si,offset
lodsb
    


or you wanted to prevent using ds and si ?

however it whould be a great speed improvement to not to read from
video ram, because if u use an offscreen buffer you already have your pixel there which was printed to screen, and you should read it from your buffer, try it, and compare it Smile

MATRIX
Post 13 Sep 2004, 09:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
ASHLEY4
Hi Matrix, The above code was converted from "amiflat" code i think it was from a pascal proc, he want it to compile in fasm, so he asked me to converted it for him, he did not say can you make it faster.

PS: Y not put your Great programming skill's to good use's, and enter the 512b compo, with your optimizing skill, you should be able to fit xp in 512byes's or at least win98 Smile.
For more info try here:
http://512.decard.net/?body=intro
or here for screenshots
http://www.falconrybells.co.uk/page2.htm

\\\||///
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 13 Sep 2004, 13:44
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
ASHLEY4 wrote:
Hi Matrix, The above code was converted from "amiflat" code i think it was from a pascal proc, he want it to compile in fasm, so he asked me to converted it for him, he did not say can you make it faster.

PS: Y not put your Great programming skill's to good use's, and enter the 512b compo, with your optimizing skill, you should be able to fit xp in 512byes's or at least win98 Smile.
For more info try here:
http://512.decard.net/?body=intro
or here for screenshots
http://www.falconrybells.co.uk/page2.htm

\\\||///
(@@)
ASHLEY4.


Hello ASHLEY4
i'm not sure about it,
i can't make GTA3 run under 512 Bytes XP Sad

ps.: did you know that the boot logo is in the boot section? Smile
and its not vector graphic or fractal graphic

MATRIX
Post 28 Sep 2004, 10:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Matrix



Joined: 04 Sep 2004
Posts: 1171
Location: Overflow
Matrix
crc wrote:
I experimented with VESA, but didn't find it to be reliable. What works on one machine won't work on others - even when they claim to be compliant with the VESA specs. VGA still only gives you a fairly low-res screen for text. I'd LOVE to see a 160x100 text screen, but my laptop won't support it Sad


Hy crc,
you don't need that to be a text mode,
you can put fonts to graphic screen, it might look better too Smile
if you have a fast computer you can do some moving thingy in the text background via using mask color(s) white for example, or buffer(s) and transparent color(s)

MATRIX
Post 28 Sep 2004, 10:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
crc



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 637
Location: Penndel, PA [USA]
crc
Matrix,

At a max of 640x480 VESA mode, I can only use a 4x4 font for a 160x100 screen. I *hate* background images; they are distracting (My UI is totally text based and is full screen only) In my OS, VESA is used for drawing, and little else. I'm not into eye candy and all the bloat and uselessness that comes with that...
Post 28 Sep 2004, 11:51
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.