flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > All section names of resourcen

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Hp



Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Hp
Hello,

what are all true section names of resourcen in Windows?
.rsrc
?????
???

Thanks....
Post 16 Jul 2004, 17:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
vid
Verbosity in development


Joined: 05 Sep 2003
Posts: 7105
Location: Slovakia
vid
in fasm, you must create section with "section" directive, ".data" etc. are just macros from win32axp.inc, so check that file for real names.
Post 16 Jul 2004, 18:38
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Hp



Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 16
Hp
Hello,

I know, bud this is only a question about my program. It read resourcen out and now I need to know what all names.

I need only all know Resourcen Section names.
Post 18 Jul 2004, 12:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
decard



Joined: 11 Sep 2003
Posts: 1092
Location: Poland
decard
you can give any name to the resource section, so proably it would be better to check section type with section flags, rather than determine type using section name.
Post 18 Jul 2004, 15:35
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
You should definitely check the image directory in the PE header rather than depending on resource names. Iirc there are some windows versions (or perhaps libraries/programs) that *depend* on the resource section having the name ".rsrc", at least most protectors I have seen have a checkbox for not messing with .rsrc name.

However, theoretically, I guess that the resource data could be in any section, and even be located in the middle of it...
Post 18 Jul 2004, 16:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 878
Location: Colombia
pelaillo
f0dder wrote:
However, theoretically, I guess that the resource data could be in any section, and even be located in the middle of it...

... and practically: I have done some tests using "data" and resource macros, locating resources in several places and it works on all windows versions. IIRC, reshacker was able to locate them also.
Post 18 Jul 2004, 17:56
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.