flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Windows > Tabs stops for fasmw

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Would it be easy to add tab stops to the fasmw ide interface? I want to reset the tab stops to a static 4 spaces per tab, and also have it go back 4 spaces when the backspace is pressed. This would be useful for indenting nested loops in assembly.
Thanks,
MadMatt
Post 16 Jul 2004, 15:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1137
Location: Russian Federation
comrade
8 is hardcoded into ASMEDIT, so is 256-character line. Privalov said he is working on it.

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 16 Jul 2004, 15:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7752
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
However I was not planning to change the DOS-compatible tabbing behavior. But I might improve "Smart tabs" algorithm a bit, to scan not only the previous line to detect custom tab stops (for instance, all currently visible lines above the one with caret might be used).
Post 16 Jul 2004, 16:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
comrade



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 1137
Location: Russian Federation
comrade
I have "Smart tabulation" disabled, and FASMW puts caret at the first non-whitespace of the previous line. Imho, that's the best behaviour. I had a lot of frustration with "Smart tabulation".

_________________
comrade (comrade64@live.com; http://comrade.ownz.com/)
Post 17 Jul 2004, 02:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7752
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
I was very used to this feature in the DOS days and so I'm sticking to it.
Post 17 Jul 2004, 06:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Soooo, is the feature doable? Can I just change just a few lines of source code, or would it require a lot of changing? Could this be a feature in a future version of fasm for windows?
Post 17 Jul 2004, 07:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7752
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
At line 997 in ASMEDIT.INC you've got this code:
Code:
    .standard_tab:
        mov     ecx,[.caret_position]
        and     ecx,not 111b
        sub     ecx,[.caret_position]
        add     ecx,8    

to get 4-space tabs, you can replace it with:
Code:
    .standard_tab:
        mov     ecx,[.caret_position]
        and     ecx,not 11b
        sub     ecx,[.caret_position]
        add     ecx,4    
Post 17 Jul 2004, 08:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Ok, I'll give it a try when I have time.
Thanks,
MadMatt
Post 17 Jul 2004, 12:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Well, found the time to test it, and it works good.
thanks Privalov
MadMatt
Post 17 Jul 2004, 17:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.