flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Desktop redrawing

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
djca



Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 21
djca
I installed MeOS v 0.76 and have the following problem:
When a window is moved across the desktop the redrawing of the desktop icons is quite slow why? Is it problem with my videocard (Voodoo Banshe 16mb video memory with vesa v3.0) or it is the os?
Post 14 Jul 2004, 10:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
djca



Joined: 14 Jul 2004
Posts: 21
djca
up
Post 18 Jul 2004, 16:17
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Sniper



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Russia
Sniper
Did you activate MTRR graphics acceleration?
Post 18 Jul 2004, 16:32
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gomer73



Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 151
Gomer73
What exactly is MTTR anyways?
Post 18 Jul 2004, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
It's because original ICON application uses 1st function (put pixel) to draw window and pixels are calculated in time between two pixel puts:
1. calculate pixel color
2. put pixel (function 1)
3. goto 1

You can try my version if ICON (http://meosfiles.narod.ru/index_eng.htm) which draws to buffer and then uses 7th function (put image), and supports 32x32 32-bit .ICO files also BTW
Post 18 Jul 2004, 18:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
f0dder



Joined: 19 Feb 2004
Posts: 3170
Location: Denmark
f0dder
Iirc MTRR is an abbreviation for "Memory Type Range Registers". There's a few of these, programmed with MSRs (Model Specific Registers, see RDMSR/WRMSR).

The MTRR's can control things like cachability, write-combining, and such. It's probably documented in the intel docs, probably the Systems Programming ones, if not it should be on sandpile.org .
Post 18 Jul 2004, 18:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
bloglite



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Location: East Tennessee U.S.A.
bloglite
[quote="Gomer73"]What exactly is MTTR anyways?[/quote]

A bit on MTTR.

On Intel P6 family processors (Pentium Pro, Pentium II and later)
the Memory Type Range Registers (MTRRs) may be used to control
processor access to memory ranges. This is most useful when you have
a video (VGA) card on a PCI or AGP bus. Enabling write-combining
allows bus write transfers to be combined into a larger transfer
before bursting over the PCI/AGP bus. This can increase performance
of image write operations 2.5 times or more.

The Cyrix 6x86, 6x86MX and M II processors have Address Range
Registers (ARRs) which provide a similar functionality to MTRRs. For
these, the ARRs are used to emulate the MTRRs.

The AMD K6-2 (stepping 8 and above) and K6-3 processors have two
MTRRs. These are supported. The AMD Athlon family provide 8 Intel
style MTRRs.

The Centaur C6 (WinChip) has 8 MCRs, allowing write-combining.

The VIA Cyrix III and VIA C3 CPUs offer 8 Intel style MTRRs.

L8r
Post 18 Jul 2004, 20:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
fasm9



Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 439
fasm9
benchmark with or without mtrr?

BTW, it will be good IF menuetos is more faster regardless of MTRR.
Post 18 Jul 2004, 21:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Mike Hibbett



Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 88
Location: UK
Mike Hibbett
Mike, I tried your icon app; I couldn't get it to work with .ico files. Can you explain how to do this?

Thanks,

Mike.
Post 22 Jul 2004, 13:15
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Reply with quote
profkid13



Joined: 21 Aug 2003
Posts: 111
profkid13
Quote:
Mike, I tried your icon app; I couldn't get it to work with .ico files. Can you explain how to do this?

Thanks,

Mike.


Just replace the original icon by his one, to use ico files (only 32x32xtrue color) just use the extension .ico in your icon manager
it doesnt works (yet) with ico files that contain more than one resolution Wink
Post 22 Jul 2004, 17:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
mike.dld



Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 235
Location: Belarus, Minsk
mike.dld
Well, .ico file must contain only one icon 32x32, 32-bit, it means, transparency works. File size - 4286 bytes.
Post 22 Jul 2004, 19:23
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Mike Hibbett



Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 88
Location: UK
Mike Hibbett
I created some 32 colour icons, and got it to work :o)

Thanks,

Mike
Post 22 Jul 2004, 21:37
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.