flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Internet connection with ETHERNET card how?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Sniper



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Russia
Sniper
See in Subject
Post 14 Jul 2004, 20:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Endre



Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 212
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Endre
Sniper wrote:
See in Subject


What do you want to know exactly? I can give you very stupid answers but more intelligent once too. What's the scope you're hung up on?

Endre.
Post 15 Jul 2004, 15:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Sniper



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Russia
Sniper
When I want connect to internet with modem I read ppp.txt and use ppp utility! What I want use to connect to internet with ethernet card?
Post 15 Jul 2004, 15:13
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Endre



Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 212
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Endre
Sniper wrote:
When I want connect to internet with modem I read ppp.txt and use ppp utility! What I want use to connect to internet with ethernet card?


Maybe I don't understand you perfectly, but:
- if you use your modem at home with ppp utilities then you will not use any ethernet cards for connection to the web. So you can forget it. Unless you have a 'not-dial-in' oppurtunity:
- there are modems (for inst. ADSL) that you can mostly be connected over an ethernet card to. That's why the protocol -they use- is called PPPoE (ppp over ethernet). Unfortunately menuetOS doesn't support it yet. Sometimes the ADSL modem and the ethernet card are built in a compact unit so they aren't separated from each other.
- if you are behind a server (e.g. the proxy server of the school etc.) then you connect to this server over your ethernet card. That is your machine is a simple member of the given local area network (LAN).

Endre.
Post 15 Jul 2004, 17:19
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Sniper



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Russia
Sniper
If I understand you right MEOS doesn't support PPPoE protocol?

>>Maybe I don't understand you perfectly, but:
Sometimes I write worst in english and sometimes not! Wink
Post 15 Jul 2004, 19:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Endre



Joined: 29 Dec 2003
Posts: 212
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Endre
Sniper wrote:
If I understand you right MEOS doesn't support PPPoE protocol?

No, it doesn't yet Sad.

Sniper wrote:
>>Maybe I don't understand you perfectly, but:
Sometimes I write worst in english and sometimes not! Wink

That's the case with me as well Wink.
Post 16 Jul 2004, 07:51
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.