flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > OS Construction > I Have A Problem With Command Interpreter

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
To show that a command interpreter for realmode and pmode are very similar.

ASHLEY4.

ps: you can get the source from here, for the full os (including int 20h)
http://www.v2os.cx/old/
or go to my posting on here:
http://board.flatassembler.net/topic.php?t=1854
Post 26 Jul 2004, 21:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Nice...

Thx ASHLEY4 Very Happy

The V2OS is way more advanced than my os wannabe.
Looking in sources maybe i'l learn something.
Post 27 Jul 2004, 21:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
That ok, Gambino,
I have started a pmode os assembled with fasm, it's not as advanced as v2os, but is made on the same idea's and shows how to set int's in pmode eg: idt etc.
If it helps you can down load it from here: http://www.falconrybells.co.uk

ASHLEY4.
Post 28 Jul 2004, 00:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Posting soon... very busy right now... Sad

Uh, yes I Am Alive if u are wondering Very Happy
Post 01 Aug 2004, 08:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Here is the v0.5 Alpha Release....
The 'dir' command only works with FAT16 formatted harddisks.
To make it boot from floppy just insert a blank dos formatted floppy and run makeboot.bat
After that reboot your computer and boot from floppy.

I want some reply on this...
I know i have a bug but it's from the procedures macro...
The procedures only accept Word or DWord, not both:

Code:
;this doesn't works
proc test,word,dword
begin
endp    


CAN ANYONE GIVE SOME GOOD PROC MACROS ?


Description: A Screenshot after 'dir' command
Filesize: 39.87 KB
Viewed: 4645 Time(s)

XBIOC.jpg


Description: The XBIOC v0.5 Alpha Release
Download
Filename: RELEASE5.zip
Filesize: 8.28 KB
Downloaded: 233 Time(s)



Last edited by Gambino on 03 Aug 2004, 12:55; edited 1 time in total
Post 02 Aug 2004, 12:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gomer73



Joined: 29 Nov 2003
Posts: 151
You could just make everything DWORDs. Another 2 bytes on the stack aint going to make much of a difference.

Don't know anything about macros, but know that would work for you.
Post 02 Aug 2004, 18:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Now working on graphical aspects...

GOMER73

That's not a solution...
Post 03 Aug 2004, 17:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
pelaillo
Missing in inaction


Joined: 19 Jun 2003
Posts: 874
Location: Colombia
Gambino wrote:
That's not a solution...

Question
I've missed something. What do you mean?
Post 03 Aug 2004, 17:43
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Quote:

I know i have a bug but it's from the procedures macro...
The procedures only accept Word or DWord, not both:

Code:
;this doesn't works
proc test,word,dword
begin
endp

Post 03 Aug 2004, 18:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
Gambino, This is some code for vesa 1 , for real-mode, it may help your graphic code.
Code:
;Sets vesa 1, 640x480x256 for use in real-mode.; assembles in NASM (not tested with fasm);PS: No test for vesa is done in the code ,also the lables are because i love animals.mov ax,4f02h  ;set vesa 1.0 screen modemov bx,101h  ;640*480*256int 10hmov dx,0xa000mov ds,dx              ;sets up registerscall windowbird:xor dx,dx      ;(pages-1)cat:push dxcall windowxor bx,bxmov al, 0cchcall dogpop dxcmp dx,4je birdinc dxmov ah,01hint 16hjz  cat mov ax,0003hint 10hmov ax,4c00h      ; This is just int 21h                ; for test ,take it out in your OSwindow:mov ax,4f05h    ;vesa 1 window selectmov bx,0int 10h        ;dx is  the reqired windowxor bx,bxretdog:        ;(4*2^16)+45056 pixelsmov [bx],alinc bxcmp bx,$00000jne dogret    

\\\\|////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 04 Aug 2004, 01:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Thx ASHLEY4 , bur VESA will be implemented later, now i'm working on TEXT mode graphics Very Happy . ( Like puting a new font, creating new characters, setting a non-standard TEXT resolution like 90x40 ).

Did u look at the new release ?
Post 04 Aug 2004, 08:15
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
crc



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 637
Location: Penndel, PA [USA]
For non-standard text resolutions, I like 100x30 Smile If you're using the BIOS for text output this is as simple as adding:

Code:
  mov ax,22h    ; 100x30 text mode (not standard!)
  int 10h
    
Post 04 Aug 2004, 11:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
Yes i have and you are do a great job, v2os sets a none standard text mode and fonts, have you seen how they have done it ?.
I have some font for the above vesa mode when you come to do your graphic.
I also have code for a command line cdplayer that runs in real-mode (does not need dos)that you can add to your next release.
Let me know if you need them and keep up the good work.
\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 04 Aug 2004, 14:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
Actualy i implemented already a new font Very Happy
And now working on a rotine that changes resolutions
Like now i'm in 80x25 standard mode, i type mode90x40 and now i am in 90x40 non standard mode Very Happy

ASHLEY4 any help is welcome Razz

Some one please tell me how many text modes do u know..

I know these:

text pixel pixel colors disply scrn system
resol box resolution pages addr
1. 40x25 9x16 360x400 16 8 B800 VGA
2. 80x25 9x16 720x400 16 8 B800 VGA
3. 80x43 8x8 640x350 16 4 B800 VGA
4. 80x50 8x8 640x400 16 4 B800 VGA
5. 80x60 VESA
6. 132x25 VESA
7. 132x43 VESA
8. 132x50 VESA
9. 132x60 VESA
10. 90x40 CRT
11.100x30 VESA

Razz


Last edited by Gambino on 05 Aug 2004, 08:51; edited 1 time in total
Post 04 Aug 2004, 16:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
crc



Joined: 21 Jun 2003
Posts: 637
Location: Penndel, PA [USA]
Don't forget 100x30 VESA
Post 05 Aug 2004, 01:07
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
I'm back again.....
The next release is delayed...trying to translate everything to pmode...
Post 10 Aug 2004, 18:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
Gambino,Let me know if you need help, or maybe you could be one of the first to use "MOP" ,stand's for Module Os Project ?.
You can use the modules (include files), at compile time to get into pmode and setup gdt, idt, a20, etc, just by just including some inc files, all coded in fasm.
let me know if you want to use them.
\\\\|////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 10 Aug 2004, 20:50
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
And here is a new version XBIOC v0.5 Alpha.
Actualy i "forgot" to release this version because of the severe bugs caused by the procedures macros....
But here it is....

Bugs:
1. when running plasma demo the screen may or not restore properly
2. when running hdd the computer may or not freeze ( u must restart if it freezes)
3. when running dir the computer may or not freeze ( u must restart if it freezes)

CAUTION: For testing the dir function you need that your primary partition to be FAT16 ( FAT32 still not supported ).

Have Fun Cool


Description: Screenshot Duh !
Filesize: 23.39 KB
Viewed: 4313 Time(s)

xbioc.jpg


Description: Here are the binaryes
Download
Filename: RELEASE5B.zip
Filesize: 9.23 KB
Downloaded: 175 Time(s)

Post 30 Aug 2004, 06:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
ASHLEY4



Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 376
Location: UK
Gambino, May be you could enter a compat ver of XBIOC, in the 512b compo Wink.

\\\\||////
(@@)
ASHLEY4.
Post 30 Aug 2004, 14:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Gambino



Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Posts: 44
Location: Romania
ASHLEY4

Please be more explicit, i didn't understood anything Embarassed

Rolling Eyes I am from Romania so English is not my best known language Cool
Post 30 Aug 2004, 15:49
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.