flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Premature Optimization

What do you think?
I agree.
12%
 12%  [ 1 ]
I disagree.
37%
 37%  [ 3 ]
I don't care.
37%
 37%  [ 3 ]
I'm too drunk to decide/understand.
12%
 12%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 8

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Tyler

Tyler
Donald Knuth wrote:
We should forget about small efficiencies, say about 97% of the time: premature optimization is the root of all evil. Yet we should not pass up our opportunities in that critical 3%.
For anyone who doesn't know, Knuth wrote the The Art of Computer Programming, the 4 volume computer science bible.
Post 28 Mar 2015, 03:39
HaHaAnonymous

HaHaAnonymous
Interesting name for the book (though I am not good with arts). Did not know about him as well, I never bought any book related to programming because: I am very poor, my country is not so nice about importing goods (especially from USA), local programming books are scarce and when you find them, they are not in English and usually covers a specific programming language instead of programming itself. D:

As said above, you can consider me ignorant and you may not want to pay much attention to what I going to say below, continue at your own risk...

---
First, what you consider small efficiencies? Second, what do you really mean by "Premature Optimization"?

Is "premature optimization" the optimization you apply when the code is not yet done and/or tested?
Is "premature optimization" the optimization you apply first to the most insignificant areas of the code instead of more important ones?

Or is this another kind of topic: "Code it first, optimize it later"? I guess I am bit lost. D:

I apologize for any inconveniences I may have caused.
Post 28 Mar 2015, 04:11
revolution
When all else fails, read the source

revolution