flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Compiler Internals > fasm.exe crash on setting include variable

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
I get a crash when I try and set the 'INCLUDE' variable to a value with fasm.exe. below is the crash dump info:


Description: fasm.exe crash dump info:
Download
Filename: fasm.exe_crash_info.zip
Filesize: 255.92 KB
Downloaded: 311 Time(s)


_________________
Gimme a sledge hammer! I'LL FIX IT!
Post 02 Mar 2015, 22:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17669
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Can you please give the steps needed to reproduce the crash.
Post 02 Mar 2015, 23:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
l_inc



Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 881
l_inc
revolution
It's not about the include variable. The crash happens when you try to create a constant definition for a reserved preprocessor keyword using the d switch:
Code:
fasm -dmacro= test.asm    

_________________
Faith is a superposition of knowledge and fallacy
Post 03 Mar 2015, 00:08
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17669
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
l_inc: Thanks. That is much more concise the a crash dump.
Post 03 Mar 2015, 00:17
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
Sorry about that, here's some more info:
I set up the %PATH% variable to my fasm directory and include: c:\fasmw64\ ; c:\fasmw64\w7include64\
but that still wouldn't compile my 64bit example.
So I tried to set the include directory with fasm, which then caused the crash:
C:\FASMW64\W7Examples64\Misc>fasm customfonta.asm -d INCLUDE=c:\fasmw64\w7include64
flat assembler version 1.71.36 (1048576 kilobytes memory)
Post 03 Mar 2015, 12:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17669
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
fasm doesn't read the PATH variable. It reads the INCLUDE variable.

But the problem is as l_inc described, setting a reserved preprocessor keyword using the d switch. In your case the reserved word is INCLUDE.
Post 03 Mar 2015, 13:06
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
Fixed in 1.71.37.
Post 03 Mar 2015, 15:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
madmatt



Joined: 07 Oct 2003
Posts: 1045
Location: Michigan, USA
madmatt
I see now, that is how NOT to set the 'INCLUDE' variable Wink
Post 03 Mar 2015, 16:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
l_inc



Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 881
l_inc
I see there was a silent improvement update on this today, but the Windows package now contains a compiled DOS executable instead of a console PE.

_________________
Faith is a superposition of knowledge and fallacy
Post 08 Mar 2015, 12:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17669
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Heh, I tried it on a win7 box:
Quote:
---------------------------
Unsupported 16-Bit Application
---------------------------
The program or feature "\??\[...]\FASM.EXE" cannot start or run due to incompatibity with 64-bit versions of Windows. Please contact the software vendor to ask if a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available.


---------------------------
OK
---------------------------
So is "a 64-bit Windows compatible version is available"?

Notice the misspelling of "incompatibity".
Post 08 Mar 2015, 13:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tomasz Grysztar



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 7797
Location: Kraków, Poland
Tomasz Grysztar
I apologize, I had some small local problems and while I tried to correct the packages I actually made them worse. And it seems another overzealous AV started to delete some of my executable files as soon as I compiled them (I used to just laugh whenever this happens), thus disrupting my build process.
Post 08 Mar 2015, 14:00
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
l_inc



Joined: 23 Oct 2009
Posts: 881
l_inc
Tomasz Grysztar
Quote:
it seems another overzealous AV started to delete some of my executable files

I gave up on AV 5-6 years ago. Lots of issues such as system slowdown and destabilization as well as false positives, but failing to protect against real threats. Thus I sticked to a pure proactive defense as a firewall module with lots of close-to-paranoid manual on-demand configuration (comodo firewall or agnitum outpost firewall would go).

_________________
Faith is a superposition of knowledge and fallacy
Post 08 Mar 2015, 14:21
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.