flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

flat assembler > Compiler Internals > [sug] targeted allocation of memory in Windows fasm

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
HaHaAnonymous



Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 1181
Location: Unknown
Quote:

If one of the source files is zero bytes in length then it erroneously shows an out of memory error.

Who will attempt to compile an empty source?

Bug hunters, maybe. If your working environment opens the possibility for this then you can (and should) avoid that in your script. Compiling an empty source is non sense.

I know this was a stupid post, that is what ignorant and stupid people do.

Thank you!

I apologize for any inconveniences I may have caused.
Post 13 Apr 2015, 16:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16782
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
It is possible that an included file may be zero bytes.

It is also possible to read zero bytes from a valid stub file.
Code:
format PE on 'STUB.EXE'    
Post 13 Apr 2015, 16:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
HaHaAnonymous



Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 1181
Location: Unknown
Quote:

It is possible that an included file may be zero bytes.

Why people would include an empty file?

Quote:

It is also possible to read zero bytes from a valid stub file.

And who will provide an empty stub file?

That is why you should always ignore stupid post made by stupid and ignorant people like me. It will never end. A waste of time.

Thank you!

I apologize for any inconveniences I may have caused.
Post 13 Apr 2015, 16:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 16782
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
HaHaAnonymous wrote:
Why people would include an empty file?
The file might be auto-generated from another tool. Or perhaps some optional settings.
Code:
include 'optional_stuff_and_settings.inc'    
HaHaAnonymous wrote:
And who will provide an empty stub file?
Not an empty stub, but a valid stub is loaded in parts by fasm. After the header is loaded other sections can be empty.

Anyhow, there is no sense in leaving a bug there no matter how rare it might be that someone encounters it.
Post 14 Apr 2015, 00:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2019, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.