flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Fresh IDE v2.2.1 released.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 10 May 2014, 22:49
Download Fresh 2.2.1

This is a mainly bug fix version. A lot of small-to-middle bugs has been fixed, including some old, rarely manifesting bugs.

But there is also very important new feature: "Unroll macro". This is a long awaited feature that will significantly accelerate and facilitate the development, analysis and debugging of macros.

It probably needs some improvement later, but it is some kind of break-through. Wink

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 10 May 2014, 22:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 11 May 2014, 06:45
Thi is very good !
When to wait video tutorials , about unroll macro for analysis and debugging of macros?
Post 11 May 2014, 06:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 11 May 2014, 07:40
Roman wrote:
When to wait video tutorials , about unroll macro for analysis and debugging of macros?


Hm, do you think video tutorial is better than good textual documentation? I am not a good English speaker, nor a good actor. So, probably the best video tutorial I can create is in Bulgarian language with possibly bad quality subtitles. Wink

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 11 May 2014, 07:40
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 11 May 2014, 08:30
YES ! Video tutorials best decision ! All clearly and understand everything !
Because the author knows how to do right !
Video tutorials thi is fast way to understand and interested the Fresh !
Many people not love read long docs Sad

Dont speak in video tutorial , simple show in detail the steps.
You can use notepad in video Smile
Post 11 May 2014, 08:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 841
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX 11 May 2014, 10:26
JohnFound wrote:

Hm, do you think video tutorial is better than good textual documentation?


Video tutorials will compliment textual documentation nicely.

While doing a demo, please record your computer screen using CamStudio for example.
And no, you don't need to speak. The visual explanation should be more
than enough.

Wink
Post 11 May 2014, 10:26
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
questlima



Joined: 27 Aug 2014
Posts: 37
questlima 27 Aug 2014, 12:30
For a noob like me i need a good ASM IDE coz to learn ASM its not that
easy:) can do with notepad but i gets confused if the code is 50+ lines i haven't seen a good ASM IDE and was searching for a good IDE thank God
at last found one, i am very pleased with Fresh IDE thanks keep up
Post 27 Aug 2014, 12:30
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Bargest



Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Location: Russia
Bargest 07 Sep 2014, 11:16
Hi. After a while I've updated to Fresh 2.2.1.
Now I have a trouble: editor and project windows are under the toolbar (screen attached). I can resize them, but after reopening Fresh windows are under toolbar again.
Is there a way to save workspace after resizing windows? Or maybe it can be fixed in other way?


Description: window under toolbar
Filesize: 36.89 KB
Viewed: 19450 Time(s)

123123123.png



_________________
jmp $ ; Happy end!
Post 07 Sep 2014, 11:16
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 07 Sep 2014, 11:48
Bargest wrote:
Hi. After a while I've updated to Fresh 2.2.1.
Now I have a trouble: editor and project windows are under the toolbar (screen attached). I can resize them, but after reopening Fresh windows are under toolbar again.
Is there a way to save workspace after resizing windows? Or maybe it can be fixed in other way?


Is it means, the old version (which?) didn't have this problem? What version of Windows you use?

BTW, try to replace the line 56 of "source/formutils.asm" from:
Code:
        lea     ebx, [.info.rcMonitor]    
to
Code:
        lea     ebx, [.info.rcWork]    
and recompile. Is it helps?

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 07 Sep 2014, 11:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Bargest



Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Location: Russia
Bargest 07 Sep 2014, 12:01
Quote:
Is it means, the old version (which?) didn't have this problem?

I didn't have this problem before. But I wasn't coding in asm for a long time, so I don't remember which version of Fresh I had. I suppose it was smth like 2.0.X.
Quote:
What version of Windows you use?

Win7 x64.
Quote:
BTW, try to replace the line 56 of "source/formutils.asm" from:

Yes, it helped. Thanks.
Post 07 Sep 2014, 12:01
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
smiddy



Joined: 31 Oct 2004
Posts: 557
smiddy 07 Sep 2014, 14:28
Thanks...I'll recompile. I was just resizing that lower window every time.
Post 07 Sep 2014, 14:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 07 Sep 2014, 16:55
Bargest wrote:
Yes, it helped. Thanks.


So, bug fixed. Smile I will submit the fix to the repository.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 07 Sep 2014, 16:55
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 08 Sep 2014, 05:22
JohnFound in last version debugmode included and work fine?
Post 08 Sep 2014, 05:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 08 Sep 2014, 05:33
Where SSE registers ? In debug mode. I not see Sad
For 3d programming it is important !
Post 08 Sep 2014, 05:33
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 08 Sep 2014, 05:44
@Roman - The internal debugger of Fresh IDE is not finished and need serious rework in order to meet the current requirements to be portable (for Linux and Windows). That is why it is recommended the external debugger to be used. Really useful internal debugger will not be created soon. Well, unless someone wants to make it.

Fresh IDE has good integration with external debuggers for Windows and Linux OSes.

Personally I use EDB for Linux and OllyDbg for Windows programs. Notice that OllyDbg works in Linux (WINE) pretty good.
Post 08 Sep 2014, 05:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 08 Sep 2014, 07:45
Nice and comfortable when the program has its own debugger Smile
Post 08 Sep 2014, 07:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 1796
Roman 08 Sep 2014, 09:39
JohnFound I'll give you a good idea.
In editor text paste pointer to screen !!!
For example screenshot this idea:
https://www.fig.net/pub/proceedings/korea/full-papers/session3/seo-jeong-lee-kim/seo-jeong3.jpg




PS: You fresh find in text $pict put the image in this place, when user set cursor on this line, when user jump to another line then hide image !. This is idea !
Maybe have two $pict(this all ways show picture ) and $hidenpic (this show picture when user on this line in text )
And can put sound ! Play sound when user cursor on this line in code !


Description:
Filesize: 157.13 KB
Viewed: 19403 Time(s)

1.jpg


Post 08 Sep 2014, 09:39
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Bargest



Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Location: Russia
Bargest 10 Sep 2014, 11:34
Hi there. I have a small feature request.
If I press F9 in Fresh, program runs. Could you please make a configuration filed "Execution command"? So I can run not only compiled executable, but some different tool. It will be very useful for OS development (run batch files that update OS image and run VM) and for developing libraries (start a different program, that loads the library). It will also be very nice to specify arguments list for program run.
So, the feature consists of 2 text edit fields and F9 handler, which takes these two texts and runs specified program with arguments.
Post 10 Sep 2014, 11:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3499
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound 10 Sep 2014, 11:44
@Bargest: Yes, all these features are in my to-do list. I will implement them soon (well as soon as possible). Smile
Post 10 Sep 2014, 11:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2024, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube.

Website powered by rwasa.