flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Long mode problem

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Frujina



Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Frujina
I have a problem entering in the long mode.
The example with long mode, doesn't work, computer gives crash all time.
I've try to make the essential code, and if I use USE32 command, after or before entering in protected mode, the commands doesn't work properly.
Post 19 Apr 2014, 21:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17714
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Show your code. We don't know what you have done or what example you are using.
Post 19 Apr 2014, 23:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
BAiC



Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 272
Location: California
BAiC
you can't enter Long Mode from within Windows so why are you posting your question to the Windows section?
Post 20 Apr 2014, 00:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sid123



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Asia, Singapore
sid123
Windows already enters Long Mode if you're running a 64-bit Version, there is no way applications can enter Long Mode.
Post 20 Apr 2014, 03:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Frujina



Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Frujina
I've tryed to make my own OS, setting global description table and entering in protected mode, withow any OS. Is not an Windows application or linux application, my application is boothing on the start of computer. I am not using dos or unix. Only bios and hardware function(like processor function, video board, etc.). This things is a part of my os kernel.
Post 20 Apr 2014, 10:03
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Frujina



Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Frujina
The FASM example that doesn't work in my case you will find here : http://flatassembler.net/examples.php
Post 20 Apr 2014, 10:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17714
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Moved to OS Construction.
Post 20 Apr 2014, 10:27
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
BAiC



Joined: 22 Mar 2011
Posts: 272
Location: California
BAiC
are you sure you have an x64 processor? the 'simple' example that Tomasz wrote only requires a 64bit-capable processor and VGA Text Mode (to show the text "LONG" in green). the "basecode" example requires some extra mainboard hardware but those should be present on any x86 compatible system board.

_________________
byte me.
Post 20 Apr 2014, 19:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Frujina



Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Frujina
Yes I have, I've already instaled Windows - 64 bit on my pc. Is a real computer.
Post 21 Apr 2014, 16:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.