flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > MenuetOS > Problems with RD2HD (.77 version and Toshiba laptps)

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Wishing



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: NY
Wishing
There seems to be a problem with the 77 kernal and writing to the HD of the Toshiba Laptops.

First of all. The Gridworks RD2HD (the big orange button version) simply
shuts off (board shows no errors) no file is written.

Then I tried the RD2HD written by VT (where you press s ) and it seems to write the file, but when its done it will not boot from that image.
Any ideas? Any other computers out there have this problem?

Wishing

_________________
446f6c7068696e
Post 17 May 2004, 00:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Sniper



Joined: 30 Nov 2003
Posts: 64
Location: Russia
Sniper
Gridworks RD2HD is not theirs it is ours... you can try our RDtoHD in our distro http://meosfiles.narod.ru/Kolibri.zip
Post 17 May 2004, 06:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bloglite



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 109
Location: East Tennessee U.S.A.
bloglite
Just a note:

the Russian RD2HD in the GridWorks Distro was from version 5 and worked so good on the machines we tested it on that its what we still use.

If there had been any advantage to changing when .77 came out it would have been done. We ran into the rd2hd and rd2fd problems with OUR hardware. FAT32 support as supplied in the official version only works on 1
of our computers where as the ru version works on ALL machines here very well. The 1 machine here that works with the official version does everything properly with either/all versions. It would be good to solve this compatibility issue and put it to bed.


You are correct. The image file will not boot with the official .77 rd2hd. Using meosload. Don't want to go there. If it changes next version, cool.

Rawrite2 may write out floppies from either version. Try it on your gear.

The VRR which we intended on including this time caused a noise from a monitor here that loosened a filling in my tooth.

Is it ready for primetime? Might be included in future distros. (tutorial?)

The video driver and app are @ the Russian site.



About the Toshiba HD writing. Does it create a filename?

G'day, Matt & Mark
Post 17 May 2004, 17:14
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tolle



Joined: 21 Jan 2004
Posts: 71
Tolle
Could you please specify what went wrong with rd2fd?
as in: does the floppy light switch on, do you see the "FDC0 dummy called" messages in debug board ? (two times or more?)

Groenten,
Tolle.
Post 17 May 2004, 22:30
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
c#6



Joined: 20 Apr 2004
Posts: 25
c#6
I also have a problem with rd2fd. When I press <s> it doesn't do a thing.

I am thinking that this problem either lies in the kernel or the floppy driver.
Maybe it is not compatible with my hardware (Gateway Solo 9150, 160mb RAM, no HDD, Pheonix BIOS, don't remember what brand of CD or floppy drive, but it might be a Toshiba).

Thanks. Very Happy
Post 18 May 2004, 16:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Ville



Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 230
Ville
Wishing wrote:
Then I tried the RD2HD written by VT (where you press s ) and it seems to write the file, but when its done it will not boot from that image.

Any ideas? Any other computers out there have this problem?


You can write menuet.img to the floppy with Rawrite. When booting from a HD, you need to add a 20*1024 byte blank header to the beginning of the file. Since Menuet expects that the RAM -image is read from an installer.
Post 18 May 2004, 18:31
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Wishing



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: NY
Wishing
Hmm.. okay.. I thought that might be one of the differences
ok... So i am going to write a new RD2HD that has the option
to put the 20*1024 block at the begining of the file or not...

_________________
446f6c7068696e
Post 20 May 2004, 22:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Wishing



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: NY
Wishing
Ok... using the 0.77pre2.8 kernal... I ran ville's RD2HD
It created the image file... smaller than the floppy creator executable (m077p28.exe).
I opened it in winhex and added 20480 byes to the begining.
Now it is the same size as m077p28.exe down to the byte.
I run Meosload.com at startup... and it doesnt even find the kernal.
Which is worse than previous!
Without adding the 20480 byes at least Meosload could find the
kernal and start that...
I dont know what is wrong... But im looking into it.
This whole thing between disk images with installers attahed at the begining.. and regular disk images.. and using various converters to transfer to and from floppy... seems to be alil unstanderdized.
Perhaps some improvement in this area will be underway.

_________________
446f6c7068696e
Post 21 May 2004, 00:25
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Wishing



Joined: 21 Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Location: NY
Wishing
Ok... after much deliberation.. and playing around with image files
etc...
Here is my conclusion. There is a bug in the new kernal with how it starts up from either the fd or the hd. There is an irregularity that
is not based on which medium the ram disk is loaded from.

To find that out I did this: I ran version .77 steight from the floppy,
with nothing else. It can run doom perfectly fine. Tinypad works too...

I used the REAL version of rawwrite (the one that linux users use)
and read the flopy into an image file. When booting from
that image on the HD with meosload.com doom will not work,
and niether will tinypad... in fact... the improved tiny pad
from the gridowrks verion even causes a full system lock up
if booted from a HD image... but NOT if that same file is booted
from the floppy.
This may ONLY apply to toshiba laptops... if anyone else has this
problem please post.
Id like to get a HD booting version of MeOS that will run doom.. but
so far I have not been able to.
Post 21 May 2004, 02:18
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
Matt



Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 23
Matt
Hi,

Been there , Done that & pulled out lots of hair.

Good Luck mastering this one. We've gone on.

When booting w/ meosload and an image (some hardware) is just not as stable.

May just be your Toshiba.


Good Luck, Matt

_________________
Better computing with a better OS "Menuet"
Post 21 May 2004, 11:27
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.