flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Suppose I want to use GPU without OpenGL or Direct3D


It's stupid?
Yes
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
No
75%
 75%  [ 3 ]
Really stupid is doing a poll just to know how stupid is this
25%
 25%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 4

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
A$M



Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Posts: 94
A$M
The title say all. Is this a stupid idea? If I discover how to do this, i'll need to make a different code for each GPU model or manufacturer?

PS.: For that text, I have not used Google Translator, so sorry if it's wrong.
Post 06 Jan 2014, 01:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
HaHaAnonymous



Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 1180
Location: Unknown
HaHaAnonymous
[ Post removed by author. ]


Last edited by HaHaAnonymous on 28 Feb 2015, 18:36; edited 1 time in total
Post 06 Jan 2014, 04:11
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
malpolud



Joined: 18 Jul 2011
Posts: 344
Location: Broken hippocampus
malpolud

_________________
There's nothing special about it,
It's either there when you're born or not.
Post 06 Jan 2014, 10:45
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sid123



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Asia, Singapore
sid123
The worst part is that GPUs don't have open documentation, NviDia doesn't even
have some documentation, plus AMD who has recently took the task of documenting ATI
cards is still not complete, and even after that there are many things that remain too complex
or are unclear.
In theory it is possible to write a native nVidia/ATI/Whatever driver that is able to switch resolutions, basic text output etc. However the problem comes when you want things like 3D Acceleration, Transparency, high Visual FX etc.
Post 06 Jan 2014, 15:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
A$M



Joined: 29 Feb 2012
Posts: 94
A$M
Thanks. I was thinking that GPU documentation is on internet. This is very complex...

Happy New Year for all!

EDIT: I already read about Mantle. Really is something like this I want to do. Currently I can render wireframe objects. EDIT 2: (using SSE)
Post 06 Jan 2014, 18:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.