flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Intel FDIV Bug (Anyone?)

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
This: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pentium_FDIV_bug

Did anyone encounter it. (I think not)

Can you imagine the impact this would have today. With all this need for rendering graphics and intense calculations. Shit !, sounds like the BP oil spill... maybe worse.
Post 14 Oct 2013, 17:09
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17271
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
typedef wrote:
Did anyone encounter it. (I think not)
Yes, someone did indeed encounter it, that is how it was discovered.

Anyhow it is very old news now and I can't imagine what is left to say about it that has not already been said.
Post 14 Oct 2013, 17:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
matefkr



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 1291
Location: Ukraine, Beregovo
matefkr
remember diz reading somewhere.. a physicist discovered zee bug not?
Post 14 Oct 2013, 18:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
matefkr



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 1291
Location: Ukraine, Beregovo
matefkr
well there was an intel lock bug.. with cmpxchg 8b oder such. i tryed it and killed the machine.. crashed it. pretty cool.
Post 14 Oct 2013, 18:53
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
matefkr



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 1291
Location: Ukraine, Beregovo
matefkr
but i found in reading.. undocumented multiform codings of same assembly instruction. sounds like secret language to the processor with corect compiler speaking this tongue be possible to hack into stuff.
Post 14 Oct 2013, 18:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
HaHaAnonymous



Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 1180
Location: Unknown
HaHaAnonymous
[ Post removed by author. ]


Last edited by HaHaAnonymous on 28 Feb 2015, 19:44; edited 1 time in total
Post 14 Oct 2013, 19:42
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
matefkr



Joined: 02 Sep 2007
Posts: 1291
Location: Ukraine, Beregovo
matefkr
of course it is not serious, i just fix the error in the program, take out the computing units and bake some new ones.
Post 15 Oct 2013, 15:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
Post 25 Oct 2013, 18:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.