flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > You modify the # of sectors and get 3MB instead of 1.44MB?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sid123



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Asia, Singapore
sid123
Hey,
I just wanted to ask a stupid question,
While searching through a mail list I found this :
Quote:

Well, recently I've been trying to boot MikeOS off of a hard drive. The only way, so far, that has worked is as follows:

- take bootload.asm and modify it to acknowledge whatever size HD I'm using (I used a 3 MB blank virtual hard drive, fixed size)
- copy a 1.44 MB MikeOS floppy image overtop of the HD image.
- compile bootload.asm.
- implant the new bootsector onto the HD image.
- boot 'er up!

I used my CHKDSK command (the original, developer's VOL) to check the new number of sectors. It worked.

Expect further posts.

Troy Martin
www.blasterman.co.nr

Really? You modify the number of sectors, and it's it. You get 3MB instead of 1.44MB(?)
Although this WON'T work on emulators and real floppies, would it work on USB's? (After you burn the image on that)

_________________
"Those who can make you believe in absurdities can make you commit atrocities" -- Voltaire https://github.com/Benderx2/R3X
XD
Post 14 Nov 2013, 09:40
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17665
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Moving to OS Construction. If it stays in Test Area then it will get deleted.
Post 14 Nov 2013, 10:11
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
cod3b453



Joined: 25 Aug 2004
Posts: 619
cod3b453
Booting always happens on the first sector of a disk and floppy, hard disk and USB all have 512 byte sectors. Hence, as long as the CHS* parameters are also used and correctly set up, it will work fine. This can also work on CDs with BIOSs that support emulation mode.

*Note that the size is not the real issue but having the correct arithmetic for consecutive sectors
Post 15 Nov 2013, 17:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.