flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Is the MikeOS bootloader a joke?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
sid123



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Asia, Singapore
sid123
I was thinking about modifying the bootloader in MIKEOS, but nothing happens
even if change the KERNEL.BIN file name I named it to,
LOL.BIN (Inside the bootloader), but when I boot with QEMU/BOCHS It runs perfectly fine?
Shocked
Now my bootloader code is something like this :
Code:
 
;------------------LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL--------------
;===========EMPTY BOOTLOADER===========================
    

Cool
I really don't understand this, if nothing happens when I modify the bootloader
then why the hell it's there?

_________________
"Those who can make you believe in absurdities can make you commit atrocities" -- Voltaire https://github.com/Benderx2/R3X
XD
Post 24 Aug 2013, 12:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coty



Joined: 17 May 2010
Posts: 554
Location: ␀
Coty
Did you build the image after you was done modifying it?

Also take note that the MikeOS build script requires NASM and imdisk to build it, if you don't have NASM or imdisk installed then the new image will not be built.

_________________
http://codercat.org/
Post 24 Aug 2013, 14:11
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sid123



Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 340
Location: Asia, Singapore
sid123
Yup! I did build it, And here's what I think the problem is,
In my bootloader I renamed the Kernel.bin to Kernel2.Bin and I renamed
My Kernel File to Kernel2.Bin And got a message from QEMU saying Kernel.Bin
Not found, In fact my bootloader should Display FATAL : NO KERNEL cause I modified it.
I think QEMU as well as BOCHS scan for Kernel.Bin when It comes to floppies and thus the
Bootloader is ineffective. That's. Another bug discovered
Post 24 Aug 2013, 14:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Coty



Joined: 17 May 2010
Posts: 554
Location: ␀
Coty
Qemu does not scan for anything except the first 512bytes in an image. The checks for a boot signature of 0x55AA then puts it in "0x7C00" in it's VM. Just like it should. I test my code with RAW disks that don't even have a file system.

Open Buildwin.bat (I assume you are using Windows) and add "pause" at the very end of the file, run it again and tell me what it says..

I'm sticking with a problem during the build process for now.

_________________
http://codercat.org/
Post 25 Aug 2013, 12:33
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.