flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > avx detected but OS not supported

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 815
Roman
I write code:

Code:
 mov eax, 1
 cpuid
 and ecx, 018000000h ;check 27 bit (OS uses XSAVE/XRSTOR)
 cmp ecx, 018000000h ; and 28 (AVX supported by CPU)
 jne not_supported
 Msg 'AVX Detected !!!'
 sub ecx, ecx ; XFEATURE_ENABLED_MASK/XCR0 register number = 0
 xgetbv ; XFEATURE_ENABLED_MASK register is in edx:eax
 and eax,6 
 cmp eax,6 ; check the AVX registers restore at context switch
 jne OSnot_supported
 Msg 'AVX Supported !!!'
 mov eax, 1
 jmp Mnb
 not_supported:
 Msg 'AVX Not Supported'
 xor eax, eax
 jmp @f
OSnot_supported:
 Msg 'OS Not Supported AVX !'
 xor eax, eax
 jmp @f
Mnb: 
    
Post 16 Aug 2013, 05:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 815
Roman
My code detected AVX but failed on OSnot_supported.
I have Win 7 (but am not sure about ServicePack 1)

My procc Intel I-5 2320 (4 CPU)

What i must do to work with AMX commands?
Post 16 Aug 2013, 05:12
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Alphonso



Joined: 16 Jan 2007
Posts: 294
Alphonso
You need SP1

Run cmd box and type "ver"

6.1.7600 W7
6.1.7601 W7 SP1
Post 16 Aug 2013, 06:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Hi, I installed this image available directly to download from ms:
7601.17514.101119-1850_x64fre_server_eval_en-us-GRMSXEVAL_EN_DVD.iso
then I installed AVX hotfix:
Windows6.1-KB2528507-x64.msu
AVX works, but I don't know whether AVX worked before applying hotfix or not.
CPU similar to your (Xeon E3 1230 v2 - it is without GPU unlike your).
Post 16 Aug 2013, 08:44
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 815
Roman
Do not installed Win 7 ServicePack 1 x86.
Maybe can installed separately AVX hotfix for Win 7 x86 ?

Microsoft it's something. Created new pack to support the processor's instruction ! What's going on ?
Post 18 Aug 2013, 06:43
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Feryno



Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Posts: 457
Location: Czech republic, Slovak republic
Feryno
Hi Roman, then use Linux (new CPU features are implemented usually quickly and errors fixed in few days).
Post 19 Aug 2013, 08:48
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
tthsqe



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 730
tthsqe
Roman, did you get this to work on windows?
I wonder what kind of mess AVX 512 and AVX 3.0 are going to cause... Smile
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Vector_Extensions
Post 20 Aug 2013, 06:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
HaHaAnonymous



Joined: 02 Dec 2012
Posts: 1180
Location: Unknown
HaHaAnonymous
[ Post removed by author. ]


Last edited by HaHaAnonymous on 28 Feb 2015, 20:09; edited 1 time in total
Post 20 Aug 2013, 14:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Roman



Joined: 21 Apr 2012
Posts: 815
Roman
I use AVX 256 bits. Win 7 x86
My procc Intel I-5 2320 (4 CPU) 2011 year
Post 21 Aug 2013, 06:38
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.