flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Few questions on assembly language and machine dependency.

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
qwerc

qwerc
Hello, I've a few questions related to assembly language and HLL and their dependency on processor.
First of all I know computer is a huge collection of circuits with only two understandable states - ON and OFF. So depending on the processor (or the network and combination of circuits), the machine language should be different for different processors. If this is correct, then compiler must have different ways to convert the source code (written in HLL) to machine code depending on the processor model. The same is true for assembler. It converts the assembly code to machine code, then how come code written in HLL is said to be portable and that in assembly is not?

I'm new to programming (trying to learn C actually), please forgive me if my questions seemed too stupid.
Thanks.
Post 23 Mar 2013, 07:41
malpolud

malpolud
There aint no stupid questions.

It is true. Try to learn some assembly basics, then you will know why assembly code is less portable than HLL code.

The differences between different processor architectures (not Pentium 4 to Pentium Dual Core but for instance 68x to ARM) require different operations to be performed to achieve a similar thing, and because Assembly code is almost exactly translated to machine code you will in fact make different operations.

Examples of simple, easily explainable differences:
- one architecture has more general purpose registers than another.
- on a certain architecture some g. p. registers can not perform certain operations
- different data bus widths
etc,

Low level programming is so much fun and is not so scary as it might look like at first.
Post 23 Mar 2013, 09:20
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
AsmGuru62

AsmGuru62