flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > IDE Development > Fresh IDE 2.1.5/2.1.6 released.

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
This is the first official release under EUPL 1.1 license. It contains many improvements as well - better "goto definition" and "embedded help" functions that can work with labels defined through preprocessor lists - as "text" and "itext" macros.
Some documentation improvements are provided as well.

The release is accessible for download on the download page.

EDIT: Because of reported regression, the fixed version 2.1.6 was published. The update is recommended.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9


Last edited by JohnFound on 12 Mar 2013, 16:39; edited 1 time in total
Post 10 Mar 2013, 10:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 9130
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
congratulation johnfound!!
Post 10 Mar 2013, 18:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 822
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
Hi John,

When I was building HotButton project, I encountered this error:
Quote:

Error: illegal instruction <<__IncludeI18nStrings >> HotButton.asm[63]
_globals.inc [231]


And while building CharCount, I got this error:
Quote:

Error: illegal instruction <<, .info MONITORINFO >> templates.asm [65]
Post 11 Mar 2013, 13:04
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
TmX, it is a bug related to the legacy examples code. I will try to provide a fix as soon as possible.
Post 11 Mar 2013, 14:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 822
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
OK. Noted.

Smile
Post 12 Mar 2013, 14:20
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
A new version v2.1.6 was just published that fixes this regression. All examples are expected to compile normally now. Smile
Post 12 Mar 2013, 16:36
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Bargest



Joined: 09 Feb 2012
Posts: 79
Location: Russia
Bargest
One more crazy idea from me.Smile
As I understand, Fresh collects information about code (labels, addresses, etc) after compilation.
Is it possible to run a compilation in a new thread with lowest priority, for example, after 2-5 seconds of not changing code? Also (again, if it is possible) the FASM compiler could be modified to create only .FAS file in order to do only needed work. It would look like automatic symbol collecting for auto completion and other pretty things.Smile
But I'm afraid it can take too many system resources.
Post 21 Mar 2013, 19:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
@Bargest: Unfortunately the implementation of this feature is not so clear. Actually, Fresh always compiles in separate thread in order to not hang the UI during the compilation. More - once the FAS file is generated, the parsing in on the background even now and the user can continue the work.
The biggest problem is actually that FASM can't ignore errors during compilation. So, if the user partially edited some file and automatic compilation started in this moment, the debug information will be broken.
Post 22 Mar 2013, 08:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
AsmGuru62



Joined: 28 Jan 2004
Posts: 1419
Location: Toronto, Canada
AsmGuru62
I see no value in auto-compilation.
FASM is fast and can compile the whole project in few seconds.
This has been my experience so far.
And I have big projects on my plate -- 50-100 K lines.
Post 22 Mar 2013, 16:58
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
zhak



Joined: 12 Apr 2005
Posts: 490
Location: Belarus
zhak
Hi, finally, I decided to give Fresh a try Smile It's quite good from the first sight. However, I could not find the following options:
1. where is path to fasm specified
2. how to switch TAB to 4 spaces instead of 8

thanks
Post 25 May 2013, 11:37
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
zhak wrote:
Hi, finally, I decided to give Fresh a try Smile It's quite good from the first sight. However, I could not find the following options:
1. where is path to fasm specified
2. how to switch TAB to 4 spaces instead of 8

thanks


Sorry for the big answer delay!

1. There is path to FASM because FASM is built in the IDE.
2. You can't but it is not necessary, because Fresh replaces the tabs by spaces. Use "smart tabulations" for optimal performance.

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 11 Jul 2013, 16:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.