flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > VESA 2.0

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
lolkusus



Joined: 09 Sep 2012
Posts: 2
lolkusus
How to draw a bar in vesa or to put a pixel. I was searching it but i didn't found anything. I am in protected mode. I am in 112h vesa mode (640x480 24bpp).

Help
Post 15 Sep 2012, 18:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
majidkamali1370



Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 50
Location: Iran
majidkamali1370
Post 16 Sep 2012, 06:11
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
lolkusus



Joined: 09 Sep 2012
Posts: 2
lolkusus
thank you
Post 16 Sep 2012, 10:14
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
freecrac



Joined: 19 Oct 2011
Posts: 117
Location: Germany Hamburg
freecrac
lolkusus wrote:
How to draw a bar in vesa or to put a pixel. I was searching it but i didn't found anything. I am in protected mode. I am in 112h vesa mode (640x480 24bpp).

Help

On my newest card (a Sapphire 7950) the modenumber 112h do not exist.
And there are only vbe-modes with 8, 16 and 32 bit per pixel, like the modenumber 121h with a resolution of 640x480x32 on this card.

So i think if we want that our routine run also with different lists of modenumbers,
then we have to look into the modeslist that comes within the VBE 2 bios, or vbe 3 bios that we are "temporary" using
and get each number by number and with each number we can find the resolution, the bits per pixel,
the lenght of the scanline and the linear address of the framebuffer in the mode-info-buffer for each modenumber of the modelist.
Quote:
vbe3.pdf from vesa.org: Starting with VBE version 2.0, VESA will no longer define new VESA mode numbers and it will no longer be mandatory to support these old mode numbers.

Dirk
Post 16 Sep 2012, 12:34
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
majidkamali1370



Joined: 31 Oct 2010
Posts: 50
Location: Iran
majidkamali1370
you're welcome Wink
Post 16 Sep 2012, 17:24
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger ICQ Number Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
You have to scan the mode list, and you have to be prepared for not finding any 24bpp modes, or not finding any 32bpp modes. Reportedly VESA 3.0 is no longer obligated to support "standard" modes, but 640x480 and 800x600 are present in 99.99% of cases.
Post 02 Oct 2012, 02:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.