flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > OS Construction > Building OS

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
yuka



Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 4
yuka
what i want is :
1. creating boot loader
2. setting up kernel
3. creating text mode os, can accept some comands,
4. creating gui, just display screen with image, cursor, and some icon

just that's for now..

maybe next i want to make my os have some features like :
- Pre-emptive multitasking with 1000hz scheduler, multithreading, multiprocessor, ring-3 protection
- Responsive GUI with resolutions up to 1920x1080, 16 million colours
- Free-form, transparent and skinnable application windows, drag'n drop
- SMP multiprocessor support with currently up to 8 cpus
- IDE: Editor/Assembler for applications
- USB 2.0 Hi-speed storage, webcam, printer class and TV/Radio support
- USB 1.1 Keyboard and mouse support
- TCP/IP stack with Loopback & Ethernet drivers
- Email/ftp/http/chess clients and ftp/mp3/http servers
- Hard real-time data fetch
- Fits on a single floppy, boots also from CD and USB drives


so, why do i start...?? Question
Post 14 Aug 2012, 03:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
yuka



Joined: 07 Aug 2012
Posts: 4
yuka
for now, i just have a bootloader..
i want my os have graphical display.
Question
Post 14 Aug 2012, 05:06
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 822
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
yuka wrote:

i want my os have graphical display.
Question


VESA programming?
http://www.monstersoft.com/tutorial1/VESA_intro.html
Post 14 Aug 2012, 11:29
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
freecrac



Joined: 19 Oct 2011
Posts: 117
Location: Germany Hamburg
freecrac
Today i like to use the native resolution of my 28" LCD in 1920x1200x32 bit per pixel @60hz refreshrate.
But in the past i used some 19" CRT monitors with a capacity of 96khz/160hz in 1024x768x32@100hz refreschrate.
(For these 19" CRT the endorsed resolution(manufactures preferred mode) was 1280x1024@85hz refreshrate.)

Some public documents can be dowload for free:
http://www.vesa.org/ (need register/login)

For to get some information about the pluged monitor:
EEDIDguideV1.pdf
EEDIDverifGuideRa.pdf


For to set video modes with a VBE 2, or a VBE 3 - bios with a high resolution and maybe with our own CRTC-parameter table for to enable high refreshrates(vbe3),
using hardware triple buffering(vbe3) or stereoscopic display support for liquid crystal (LC) shutter glasses(vbe3):
vbe3.pdf

All those stuff is only for to use primary devices. In the case that modern cards comes with more than one ourtput device for to use more than on monitor at the same time.
Swithing into some vesamodes a secondary device shows the same content of the first linear framebuffer in a cloned mode.

I donĀ“t know how to set another resolution for the secondary device,
so that the secondary monitor schows the content of the secondary framebuffer.
Any code example(s) are wellcome.

Dirk


Last edited by freecrac on 16 Aug 2012, 06:03; edited 2 times in total
Post 14 Aug 2012, 11:51
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
Dex4u



Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 1601
Location: web
Dex4u
You can take a look at DexOS as a example http://www.dex-os.com/
Post 14 Aug 2012, 14:54
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on GitHub, YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.