flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Main > Don't you miss a conditional return?

Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
Teehee



Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 568
Location: Brazil
Teehee
Code:
retne
retz
retnbe
reta

test eax,eax
retz
    

_________________
Sorry if bad english.
Post 19 Sep 2011, 15:18
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17338
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Code:
bne lr
beq lr
bhi lr

cmp r0,0
beq lr    
Teehee wrote:
Don't you miss a conditional return?
No. Razz
Post 19 Sep 2011, 16:05
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Teehee



Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 568
Location: Brazil
Teehee
whats that?
Post 19 Sep 2011, 16:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17338
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Follow the link.
Post 19 Sep 2011, 16:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Teehee



Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 568
Location: Brazil
Teehee
I did but still dont got it
Post 19 Sep 2011, 18:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
edfed



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 4240
Location: 2018
edfed
i just need a X86 based GPU and graphic/sound card, with 1 cycle IMUL and IDIV. the conditional return is a nonsense. just do a conditinal jump to a return, that's assembly.

with a x86 sound generator, and x86 graphic generator, we will be able to code very powerfull things about graphics and sound, all managed by the system X86 based CPU.

i think the multicore CPU is good if each core have a hardware task affected, like graphics, sound, system...

with just one more x86 based DSP, we will be able to analyse sound, and just two more x86 based matrix DSP, we will be able to analyse 2 video frames (like eyes).

with just one more x86 based motor driver, we will be able to manage at least 1024 motors.

with the conditional return, we need time to implement it in core instead of using this time to implement x86 based peripherals.
the priority is not a new instruction, but a new way to use the x86 architecture.

Laughing
Post 19 Sep 2011, 19:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
DOS386



Joined: 08 Dec 2006
Posts: 1901
DOS386
> Don't you miss a conditional return?

NO. I miss a conditional NOPE Wink

> with just one more x86 based motor driver, we will be able to manage at least 1024 motors

Are you brewing an artificial face ???
Post 20 Sep 2011, 05:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
MCD



Joined: 21 Aug 2004
Posts: 604
Location: Germany
MCD
I certainly do for x86
Post 15 Dec 2011, 00:46
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
tthsqe



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 730
tthsqe
doesn't this do a conditional return?!
Code:
test  eax,eax
repz ret    
Post 05 Jun 2012, 06:10
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Teehee



Joined: 05 Aug 2009
Posts: 568
Location: Brazil
Teehee
does it? :O
never saw that, neither even known about the possibility of rep with ret. :O
Post 05 Jun 2012, 12:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3502
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
No, It doesn't.
Post 05 Jun 2012, 12:54
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
shutdownall



Joined: 02 Apr 2010
Posts: 518
Location: Munich
shutdownall
Teehee wrote:
Code:
retne
retz
retnbe
reta

test eax,eax
retz
    


Could do it this way:

Code:
retz

jnz @f
ret
@@: <continue code here>
    
Post 05 Jun 2012, 16:32
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Reply with quote
tthsqe



Joined: 20 May 2009
Posts: 730
tthsqe
Sorry - I bad. I though it would have this behavior:

eax = 0 -> do not repeat ret instruction so execution falls through
eax != 0 -> ret instruction is repeated which after one repetition the ret is accomplished
Post 05 Jun 2012, 20:00
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
bzdashek



Joined: 15 Feb 2012
Posts: 147
Location: Tolstokvashino, Russia
bzdashek
I miss these commands in x86:

BNE - Branch to Non-Existent code

BNR - Branch for No Reason.

BRA - Branch to Random Address

BVS - Branch to Virtual Subroutine

CLD - CalL a Doctor

CMD - Create Meaningless Data.

DEC - DElete the Code

DRA - Decrement Random Address.

EDR - Emit Deadly Radiation.

JMP - Jump if Memory Present (conditional jump)

LLI - Lose Last Instruction.

PRS - Push Results off Stack.

RIS - Remain In Subroutine.

RTI - Return from the Infinity

SHB - Scramble High order Bit.

TEC - Take Extra time for Calculation

@revolution:
FASMARM is interesting thing, thanks!
Post 06 Jun 2012, 04:52
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  


< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.