flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Projects and Ideas > Asm driven CMS.

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17248
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
JohnFound wrote:
It is better to clone the whole repository (it is not so big):
Code:
; first clone
fossil clone http://chiselapp.com/user/johnfound/repository/FreshIDE/ Fresh.fossil

; then create folder for the checkout and open from this directory:
fossil open Fresh.fossil FreshLibDev

; later you can only do updates to stay up to date:
fossil update
    
To me this looks so overly complicated. If only there was a simple zip file link ...
JohnFound wrote:
Another way (IMHO not recommended) is to download the .zip file with the latest version. Go to the repository site and login as a anonymous user.
Then navigate to the needed latest revision of FreshLibDev branch in this case. There should be link for tarball and zip archives with the files.
Yes, this seems like a much simpler way (IMO highly recommended Wink) And easier to keep older versions of zip files in a backup archive. No need for yet another external file (fossil, and its friends) just to download things. It also brings back control to me with what I want to place on my HDD with folder names I choose.

Another problem with these evil auto-downloaders is convincing them to use my VPN and/or proxy. One can never be sure if they will work in the proper way with my networking setup.

I also see this with the HLL Linux stuff. So much complication for such a simple task of downloading something.

Hehe, I'm also allergic to installers. They never do what I want and always put their nonsense in places that don't make sense in my file organisation. I then have to spend a few minutes cleaning up the mess and reorganising things so they work correctly.
Post 24 May 2012, 22:49
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Revolution, version control systems really make the life easyer. In particular, fossil is one of the simplest one ever made. Smile

- I am working at least on 3 computers, placed on different places - at home, at work and in my parents home. To keep all work in sync and to manage all changes using zips is really very hard. I know this because I used them (and flash drives) before I found fossil.

- I can provide link to downloadable .zip file. Or you can find it in the repository if you try.
But this zip file will be really useless for the code that is changed ten times a day. For example, working on this CMS, I made a lot of changes in FreshLib. So, you simply can't compile today's MiniMagAsm with yesterday's FreshLibDev.
Of course, when I manage to make it more or less stable I will release some MiniMagAsm.zip but not during active work.

- You really have to try this "fossil" version control system. It is the simplest one on the market. Very useful peace of software.
And no installers at all. Smile

- The use of version control system have meaning only if you want to follow the development process closely. Otherwise it is meaningless at all. Simply wait for the release version.
Post 24 May 2012, 23:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
revolution wrote:
To me this looks so overly complicated.


I assume you've never use Git before. Heheh.
Fossil is simpler (and takes less space). If you're on Windows, just grab the zip file (no installer needed):
http://www.fossil-scm.org/download.html

The nice thing about VCS (version control system) is you just download the whole source code once (in the beginning), and later every time you sync it, the download size is way smaller than the initial download. No need to download zip files. Comparing changes is easy.

I use VCS on my work quite a lot.
Of course, this may or may not suit your work style. Very Happy
Post 25 May 2012, 12:59
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
XVilka



Joined: 04 May 2011
Posts: 42
Location: Russia
XVilka
Here is attached simple web server with CGI support (rewritten from NASM to FASM), going to add SCGI and FastCGI and need to asynchronous model


Description: fasm driven Web server
Download
Filename: Web2.tar.gz
Filesize: 9.77 KB
Downloaded: 202 Time(s)



Last edited by XVilka on 29 May 2012, 05:07; edited 3 times in total
Post 25 May 2012, 18:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
XVilka, it is great we have prototype server! But it crash on my machine (andLinux) on address $80484ca.
Post 25 May 2012, 19:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
XVilka



Joined: 04 May 2011
Posts: 42
Location: Russia
XVilka
Yeah, I know about crash, looks like I've made some error while refactoring/translating. Hope I'll find it today.
Post 25 May 2012, 19:32
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Well, I managed to fully implement the CMS menu system. Now it works almost exactly as planned.
Check how it works on: http://asm32.hopto.org
Changes are committed to the repository.

For now I insert the documents as a plain text. The next task is to implement document parser.

The most interesting part is that the binary "index.cgi" is smaller than the original "index.php" engine (8..9KB binary vs 17KB .php source).
Post 26 May 2012, 06:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
Really nice work Smile

I have a sugestion in term of desing of the webpage.
Dont make the main table full size.
Quote:

<table width="100%" border="0" cellspacing="8px">

Because it put a lot off white space beetween the content and the menu bar for monitors with high resolution ( above 1024x726)
(Here i have 1280 pixels width, and I see 300px column of white space)

If you make the table center align with a witdth about 900px it would look better i think.
Post 26 May 2012, 19:48
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Enko, the size of the table is managed by the css file. This "width=100%" is mistake and it does not work actually, because the CSS override it.
The problem with the wide screens is, well, the text becomes too wide and becomes not readable. That is why I limit the width of the whole site to 800px.
The one of the solutions is to make the text column formated (as in the newspapers), but I am not very sure about the result.

I will make some experiments though.
Post 26 May 2012, 21:21
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
Its definitly not 800px.

If you overrided the table class, its not working.
Here how I see it on 1280x1024
http://i45.tinypic.com/16bbo8h.jpg
(chrome and ie6)

Code:
max-width: 800px;
    

I think this is the error.

I tried this way and it works.
Code:
table {
 background-color: white;
        max-width: 800px;
       margin-left: auto;
      margin-right:auto;
      width: 800px;
}
    
Post 26 May 2012, 21:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
I got it. The text on the screenshot is preformated text file. It have fixed width and that is why it is on the left.
This text is there only temporary, as a substitute, until I implement the proper formating engine. So, be patient, I am almost ready. Smile

I don't know why WebKit doesn't support max-width style. It works in Firefox, but not in WebKit browsers and as you state, not in IE. Maybe it is non-standard or something.
Anyway, I will try to make the layout multicolumn.
Post 26 May 2012, 22:26
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
OK, I just uploaded one of the experimental versions on the server.
Check with bigger document and with small one

The document parser and formater is not finished yet, so the text may look not very good sometimes.
Post 26 May 2012, 22:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
Now on screen 1024x it looks normal with ONE column text.

But with higher resolution 1280, it show the text in TWO columns, like a newspaper.
(chrome and IE with 1280px width)
http://i48.tinypic.com/287hp3a.jpg

Well I used IE6, you almost shouldn't care about it, but I tried Chrome with same effect before.
Post 28 May 2012, 13:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Enko wrote:
But with higher resolution 1280, it show the text in TWO columns, like a newspaper.


It is intentional. Do you think it is not good?

_________________
Tox ID: 48C0321ADDB2FE5F644BB5E3D58B0D58C35E5BCBC81D7CD333633FEDF1047914A534256478D9
Post 28 May 2012, 13:59
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
I like the way it looks, like a newspaper.
This way you fight great with wide screens.

The second column is a bit higer than the first.
Post 28 May 2012, 14:22
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
Strange, but on my notebook, I see one column. Resolution 1366x720 wide screen.
But on work, with 1280x1024 I can see two columns. (its not wide screen)
Post 28 May 2012, 16:55
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
I just uploaded some design changes. IMHO, now it is even better.
Check it with some big enough article: for example - this
It is in Bulgarian language, but it contains old and incorrect information, so accept it as a "lorem ipsum" text.
Post 28 May 2012, 16:57
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
1366x720 wide screen.
On firefox and chrome:
http://i46.tinypic.com/34h8gu1.jpg

should I see two columns? Little bit later, I could try with my work pc with 1280x1024
Post 28 May 2012, 17:02
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
Ah, it is my fault. I made it on 1920 monitor and set the column width too big. Check it now. It should split on 1366 and 1280 as well.
If you resize the browser window to smaller width, the text should become one column only.
Post 28 May 2012, 17:39
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
Checked with 1280, its looks much better than befor.
I can't read bulgarian thus its similar to russian, but I do understand now where to start reading and where to continue.
Then I tried with the english article and it redered perfectly.



Its a great Idea for viewing the documentation. I like it more than msdn.

Perhaps it would be good if you add a link like "continue" at the end of the first column, so it redirects to the upper second column. Just like "↥"
Post 28 May 2012, 19:34
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar.

Powered by rwasa.