flat assembler
Message board for the users of flat assembler.

Index > Heap > Firefox 12 takes the wrong path (IMO)

Goto page 1, 2  Next
Author
Thread Post new topic Reply to topic
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17284
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
Steve: I wanted to note that v12 of Firefox is out. [...] And what they did with v12, Leo, is they are - they've engineered around the user account control popup in Windows. They've got a process that they're able to start.

[...]

Leo: That doesn't seem like a good idea.

Steve: Well, unfortunately, this is - they're trying to get - and I agree with you. And I brought up that point last week because you'd hope that the bad guys can't somehow...

Leo: If there's a way to do that, we don't really want to publicize that.

Steve: So, but the problem is what - and we've talked about this before, where we know Mozilla is trying to go where Google has gone with transparent updates so that it's just continually keeping itself current and fixing problems on the fly without requiring any user interaction. So this, so v12, which is now out, is - it's not quite to automatic seamless updates. But they have now avoided the user account control so that they, presumably with proper protection, are able to update without providing you - without putting that dialogue in your face. And with 13, which is now in beta, they've finished that, or they will when it comes out of beta.
I don't understand why they feel the need to bypass the OS with a privileged process. The user has decided to receive warnings so respect the user's preferences, don't go doing your own thing. FF, you are an app, not a driver. Leave my OS alone. You have no business requiring administrator privileges for anything. Especially since you are connecting to the Internet all the time. I wholly agree with Leo "That doesn't seem like a good idea."

Perhaps I can also mention that I think automatic updates is a bad idea. Yet another path for malware and hackers to give me bad things. And when combined with having admin privilege to install itself ... ugh, no thanks, I will not be going there.
Post 10 May 2012, 03:56
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
This will easily be exploited trust me. I'm going to post this on my hacking forums too.

Just inject a thread in that process and it'll log all the keys and send them over the net. It'll do all the work.

+1 For Mozilla.
Post 10 May 2012, 05:28
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
YONG



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 8000
Location: 22° 15' N | 114° 10' E
YONG
Should I need to worry about that? I am using FF12 right now! Shocked
Post 10 May 2012, 06:42
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Stephen



Joined: 13 Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Stephen
revolution wrote:
Perhaps I can also mention that I think automatic updates is a bad idea. Yet another path for malware and hackers to give me bad things. And when combined with having admin privilege to install itself ... ugh, no thanks, I will not be going there.


Dam, last night, Microsoft just auto updated Media player ver 10 on my 32 bit machine with Media player ver 11 64 bit. Then I had to verify my OS with Microsoft, download the 32 bit ver, manually install it, verify my OS again. As soon as I'm done and try to shut down it's trying to auto update me again with the 64 bit ver. Auto update sucks.

I'm not even letting them see the hardware on my render farm computers, who knows what they will update or what hardware they will decide they don't like...

_________________
!31337 Smile
Post 10 May 2012, 07:03
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
YONG wrote:
Should I need to worry about that? I am using FF12 right now! Shocked

It's part of the game. Get Chrome sir.
Post 10 May 2012, 13:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
TmX



Joined: 02 Mar 2006
Posts: 821
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
TmX
typedef wrote:
YONG wrote:
Should I need to worry about that? I am using FF12 right now! Shocked

It's part of the game. Get Chrome sir.


or elinks Very Happy
Post 10 May 2012, 15:57
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
r22



Joined: 27 Dec 2004
Posts: 805
r22
Public software has to cater to the public. The public, hates clicking popups, warnings, and verifications.

If IE6 had auto-update Microsoft IE9 would be king of the market share right now. Also, there would be hundreds of thousands less bot net infected computers.

Anti-Virus and Fire-Wall are for dealing with threats; regular software just has to cater to its users (be easy to use and seamlessly update/improve itself).
Post 10 May 2012, 19:34
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
When I load my firefox, it says, "sorry, the update couldn't be...... there is another instance of firefox...." Even if its on clean reboot.
Post 10 May 2012, 20:07
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
^^butt-hurt are you ? Make sure you're not a bot.... just saying
Post 10 May 2012, 23:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
revolution
When all else fails, read the source


Joined: 24 Aug 2004
Posts: 17284
Location: In your JS exploiting you and your system
revolution
r22 wrote:
Public software has to cater to the public. The public, hates clicking popups, warnings, and verifications.
Maybe true, but the public has the option of turning off the UAC if they wish to. It should not be the job of FF to override the users choice. Auto-updates has the same problem, some remote programmer should not have the right to update code in another persons machine at their whim. FF has no idea how or what people do with their machines and updating things at FF's whim could break any number of things.
Post 11 May 2012, 03:58
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
YONG



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 8000
Location: 22° 15' N | 114° 10' E
YONG
TmX wrote:
typedef wrote:
YONG wrote:
Should I need to worry about that? I am using FF12 right now! Shocked

It's part of the game. Get Chrome sir.

or elinks Very Happy
But I like FF. The pronunciation of "Chrome" sounds ugly to me! Wink Alright, I'll give Chrome a try!
Post 11 May 2012, 05:08
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
Actually get COMODO Dragon. Fast and secure.
http://www.comodo.com/home/browsers-toolbars/browser.php
Post 11 May 2012, 05:41
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Enko



Joined: 03 Apr 2007
Posts: 678
Location: Mar del Plata
Enko
YONG wrote:

But I like FF. The pronunciation of "Chrome" sounds ugly to me! Wink [size=2]Alright, I'll give Chrome a try!

How do you pronunce?

K-ROM? (kroʊm).

or

CH-ROM? (tʃroʊm) (Like Chicago, Church)?
Post 11 May 2012, 13:47
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
typedef



Joined: 25 Jul 2010
Posts: 2913
Location: 0x77760000
typedef
Chrome as Chrome....the metal
Post 11 May 2012, 14:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
LocoDelAssembly
Your code has a bug


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 4633
Location: Argentina
LocoDelAssembly
Post 11 May 2012, 15:45
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
I am posting this from QtWeb browser.
It is WebKit based with Qt interface. It really seems to be "lightweight" - it uses 40MB where Firefox eats 100MB.
I am searching for FF replacement since version 4. Actually I don't like Chrome and in fact don't trust google, so it is not an option.
Post 11 May 2012, 20:10
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
bubach



Joined: 17 Sep 2004
Posts: 340
Location: Trollhättan, Sweden
bubach
I support the Nordic countries, in this case Norway - so Opera browser 100% for me! Actually it's not half bad! Smile

EDIT, I have also noticed that the adblock plugin for Opera successfully block many things that break with adblock in FF. Like our local web-tv solutions used here in Sweden. If i wanted to watch a program in FF with adblock, nothing would play. Opera successfully blocks the ads and let me stream the video! Very Happy
Post 11 May 2012, 20:24
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
YONG



Joined: 16 Mar 2005
Posts: 8000
Location: 22° 15' N | 114° 10' E
YONG
Enko wrote:
YONG wrote:

But I like FF. The pronunciation of "Chrome" sounds ugly to me! Wink [size=2]Alright, I'll give Chrome a try!

How do you pronunce?

K-ROM? (kroʊm).

or

CH-ROM? (tʃroʊm) (Like Chicago, Church)?
It sounds like "Clone", meaning that it is just a COPY of something else! Wink
Post 12 May 2012, 04:28
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
sleepsleep



Joined: 05 Oct 2006
Posts: 8904
Location: ˛                             ⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣⁣Posts: 334455
sleepsleep
been using firefox before it starts jumping version number insanely,,,

even flash nowadays got feature to auto update,

idk how long i will stick with firefox, noscript, flashblock, ghostery,
Post 12 May 2012, 18:56
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
JohnFound



Joined: 16 Jun 2003
Posts: 3500
Location: Bulgaria
JohnFound
BTW, in Bulgaria, Chrome sounds like "hrom". One of the meanings of this word, besides the metal is "crippled" with synonym "lame" . Very Happy
dictionary wrote:
ХРОМ
1 (куц) lame, crippled, limping.
2 хим. chromium, chrome.
Post 12 May 2012, 19:41
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website ICQ Number Reply with quote
Display posts from previous:
Post new topic Reply to topic

Jump to:  
Goto page 1, 2  Next

< Last Thread | Next Thread >
Forum Rules:
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Copyright © 1999-2020, Tomasz Grysztar. Also on YouTube, Twitter.

Website powered by rwasa.